Country Information: A-C
- A-Z List (formerly Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets)U.S. Dept. of State
- CRS reports This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to all reports from 1916 to the present prepared by the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress for members, committees, and staff of the U.S. Congress. Areas of research currently include American Law, Domestic Social Policy, Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade, Government and Finance, Knowledge Services, and Resources, Science and Industry. An important note to researchers: reports are subject to ongoing updates which are noted in issuance dates as distinguished from publication dates. The reports are searchable by index terms, keywords, title, authors, congressional source, witness, congress, and date.
- Countries and Regionsfrom the U.S. Dept. of State
- Country Profiles (ELDIS)Gateway to information on development issues, providing free and easy access to wide range of high quality online resources.
- Country StudiesOnline version of a series of print volumes (1986-1998) from the Library of Congress which offer historical information.
- Countrywatch.com Country Review reportsDo a title search in OneSearch for "Country Review [Name of Country]" for online access to the reports. The full-text of these titles (from 2000 until the present) can be found in the Business Souce Complete database.
Additional Country Information
Country Information: D-N
- Economist Intelligence Unit: Country BriefingsNews, country profiles, forecasts, statistics, and more for specific countries.
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country ProfilesProvides background and historical context of current economic and political events for each country. Each profile analyzes the infrastructure and major industrial sectors of each economy and includes maps and tables of key economic data for the past 5 years.
- Embassy WorldServing the diplomatic community and the online community since 1996, EmbassyWorld is designed to provide a comprehensive list of contact resources for all of the world's diplomatic offices.
- EuropaProvides access to information published by the European Union and its institutions: European Parliament, Council of the EU, European Commission, Court of Justice, Court of Auditors, Economic and Social Committee, Committee of the Regions, European Central Bank, European Investment Bank, Agencies and other Bodies.
- Europa World PlusOnline version of The Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series.
- Global Road WarriorProvides international travelers with information on: international telephone instructions, cellular (mobile) phones, electricity, and satelline connectivity while traveling abroad. Includes country profiles, cultural information, demographics, money, points of interest, transportation, maps, and photos of most of the world's countries.
- International StatisticsThe U.S. Bureau of the Census works with foreign governments regarding data gathering and hence provide statistics from this work to census data users.
Country Information: O-Z
- Oxford Constitutions of the WorldFully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions. Includes historical versions of constitutions, and amendment Acts/Laws.
- Political Handbook of the World 1927-present (print)originally from the Center for Comparative Political Research and currently CQ Press
- Political Handbook of the World 2005-present (online)CQ Press
"A collection of comprehensive country profiles chronicling each nation's political history, government, leadership, elections, and political parties that includes profiles of intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations." - RulersList of Rulers/Heads of State of Countries, current and historical
- World Bank e-Library This link opens in a new windowSearches the World Bank's full-text collection of books, reports/working papers, journals, and other documents on social and economic development.This resource brings together, in PDF format, a fully indexed and cross-searchable database of over 5 500 titles, as well as every new title as it becomes available in print. The e-library consists of over 1 600 World Bank publications and over 2 400 Policy Research Working Papers in addition to new books and papers as they are published. E-Library is fully searchable by subject, region, keyword, title, author, abstract, or year of publication.
- World Bank DataBankAccess World Development Indicators (WDI), world development statistics and Global Development Finance (GDF) financial statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).
- World Life ExpectancyLife expectancy average by country
