Databases
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- AgeLine This link opens in a new window Contains detailed summaries of publications about older adults aged 50+ and about aging. Includes books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, dissertations, and videos.
- CINAHL with full text This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic data and some full text for scholarly literature in nursing and allied health professions.
- Criminal justice abstracts with full text This link opens in a new window
- Embase This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographical information for scholarly material in biomedical and pharmacological sciences.
- Education research complete This link opens in a new window
- Family studies abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Google scholar This link opens in a new window
- Humanities source This link opens in a new window Indexes the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
- MEDLINE (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window Indexes citations to scholarly literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of traumatic events.
- ProQuest social sciences premium collection This link opens in a new window Covers all of the social sciences with deep coverage of sociology and politics, and extending to criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.
- Psychology & behavioral sciences collection This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, education, social work, sociology, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- Social work abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues, and problems.
- Sociological Abstracts (CSA Illumina : Online) Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes citations to book reviews and abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records. Searchable by author, title, keyword, descriptors, source, and 26 other fields. Covers the years 1952 to the present time. ProQuest/CSA.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
Journals - a few examples
- Journal of evidence-based social workThe Journal of Evidence-Based Social Work aims to disseminate peer-reviewed knowledge on the development, implementation, and ongoing use of evidence-based practice to advance the field of social work. Effective evidence-based practice includes a combination of clinical evidence for heterogeneous populations, expertise, practice wisdom, individual values, and community preferences to inform culturally responsive decision-making and approaches for a wide range of populations and settings.
- Cochrane evidence synthesis and methodsCochrane Evidence Synthesis and Methods is a fully open access journal that aims to develop the evidence base for how we produce and publish evidence syntheses. The journal welcomes different types of evidence syntheses across health and social care including scoping reviews, rapid reviews, evidence gap maps, brief reports, and methods research evaluating how we plan, produce, and disseminate evidence syntheses. The journal also welcomes research articles seeking to inform and develop evidence synthesis decisions and methods, including, priority setting, consumer involvement, and meta-research to improve research integrity.
- Patient related outcome measuresPatient Related Outcome Measures is an international, peer reviewed, open access journal for the publication of authoritative and clinically relevant research that will inform and guide practitioners, researchers and patients on issues pertaining to the quality of patient care and patients’ experiences. The journal welcomes articles on all aspects of patient care from practitioners across all disciplines as well as healthcare researchers and patient support groups.
Managing Citations
- Citation/Reference Management SystemsThe Baylor Libraries support three citation/reference management systems: Endnote, Refworks, and Zotero.
Citation management systems help you collect, organize and cite your scholarly or personal references. They also integrate with word processing software (i.e. Microsoft Word or Google Docs) to assist in generating in-text citations and bibliographies. Some systems also enable collaboration among scholars working on the same project.
