Guides: Finding Health Data: Health Care Industry Information

Finding Health Care Information

Health Care Industry Information encompasses data and statistics related to the health professions, health care services, hospitals and care provider systems, and associated factors such as finance and insurance.

Health Care Industry Information

ProQuest statistical abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
World Health Organization This link opens in a new window Provides information, publications, data, and statistics on global health matters within the work of the United Nations.
Re3data: Registry of Research Data Repositories This link opens in a new window Provides a registry of research data repositories across different academic disciplines.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window Provides access to social science data for research and instruction. Maintains a data archive of more than 500 000 files.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) AHRQ is charged with supporting research designed to improve the quality of healthcare, reduces costs and increase access to essential healthcare services. The Research Tools & Data section provides access to data from AHRQ.
American Hospital Directory The American Hospital Directory® provides online data for over 6,000 hospitals. The Free Hospital Information section provides key information about hospitals throughout the United States.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services: Research, Statistics, Data & Systems The Research, Statistics, Data & Systems section of this website contains information on recent trends on Healthcare spending, employment and prices as well as managed care reports.
HSRIC (Health Services Research Information Central) This website contains selective links representing a sample of available information. Items have been selected for their quality, authority of authorship, uniqueness, and appropriateness.
MEDICARE Healthcare Provider Find & compare nursing homes, hospitals & other providers near you.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC) SHADAC is a multidisciplinary health policy research center with a focus on state policy. For over 15 years, SHADAC has produced rigorous, policy-driven analyses, translating complex research findings into actionable information that is accessible to a broad audience. SHADAC faculty and staff are nationally recognized experts on collecting and applying health policy data to inform or evaluate policy decisions, with expertise in both federal and state survey data sources. We provide unbiased technical assistance and in-depth analysis to states and other organizations and collaborate with a wide range of partners including foundations, state and federal agencies, academic institutions, other research organizations, and nonprofits.

AAMC Data and Reports Summary data reports from the Association of American Medical Colleges. This page lists AAMC resources about students and residents, institutional operations, and published reports. Much of the data is subscription-based and therefore not accessible, but some reports are available freely online. The AAMC Center for Workforce Studies also provides a significant number of data reports.
BLS Occupational Employment Statistics The Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) program produces employment and wage estimates annually for nearly 800 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual states, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.
HRSA Data Warehouse Health Resources & Services Administration datasets and query and analysis tools.
HealthyPeople.gov Data and Reports Data sets and reports from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.
WHO Health Workforce Statistics National and sub-national data on the health workforce is a pre-requisite for evidence-informed policy. Many countries and sub-national authorities face challenges in reporting and publishing a full account of the HRH situation; the information is often dispersed across institutions, with incomparable infrastructure and capacity constraints (especially in data collection and utilization). Amid these challenges future health and social protection systems are evolving, demanding new, intelligent responses to drive efficiency and improve outcomes. HWF is engaged in multiple efforts and partnerships to: improve minimum, inter--operable data sets; enable national authorities to develop strategic intelligence on HRH; and inform health workforce projections in relation to population needs and health systems priorities
UK Government Statistical Service Health and social care statistical portal.
National Health Service (UK) Statistics
Canadian Health Ministry Data
Government of Mexico Data Portal

The Commonwealth Fund Health System Data Center Explore state health system performance and policy data through custom tables, graphs and maps
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services: Research, Statistics, Data & Systems The Research, Statistics, Data & Systems section of this website contains information on recent trends on Healthcare spending, employment and prices as well as managed care reports.
US Census Health Data
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Urban Institute Data Catalog The Urban Institute Data Catalog is a place to discover, learn about, and download open data provided by Urban Institute researchers and data scientists. If you have comments or examples of how you are reusing our data, feel free to contact us at datacatalog@urban.org. Please be sure to review the data license before using the data in this catalog.

Finding Health Data

Finding Health Care Information

Health Care Industry Information

University Libraries