Copyright © Baylor® University. All rights reserved.
Report It | Title IX | Mental Health Resources | Anonymous Reporting | Legal Disclosures
"Genomic data science is a field of study that enables researchers to use powerful computational and statistical methods to decode the functional information hidden in DNA sequence. Applied in the context of genomic medicine, these data science tools help researchers and clinicians uncover how differences in DNA affect human health and disease.
Genomic data science emerged as a field in the 1990s to bring together two laboratory activities:
- Experimentation: Generating genomic information from studying the genomes of living organisms.
- Data analysis: Using statistical and computational tools to analyze and visualize genomic data, which includes processing and storing data and using algorithms and software to make predictions based on available genomic data.
Both activities help researchers acquire and gain insights from the vast amounts of genomic data." -Genomic Data Science Fact Sheet, National Human Genome Research Institute, 2022
This resource organizes information on genomes including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations.
NCBI Datasets is a new resource that lets you easily gather data from across NCBI databases. Find and download gene, transcript, protein and genome sequences, annotation and metadata.
"The All of Us Research Program is a large-scale United States based research program that began nationwide enrollment in May 2018 and intends to recruit more than one million participants. All of Us integrates electronic health records (EHR) data with survey questionnaires, genomic data and wearable device data to develop a diverse, information rich database that serves as a central point for many secondary research studies and reduce the need for developing individual single use study specific data collection protocols."
This page provides access to the genome sequence of bacteria sequenced at the Wellcome Sanger Institute. The Institute's bacterial sequencing effort concentrates on pathogenic bacteria.
GOLD: Genomes Online Database, is a World Wide Web resource for comprehensive access to information regarding genome and metagenome sequencing projects, and their associated metadata, around the world.
Ensembl is a genome browser for vertebrate genomes that supports research in comparative genomics, evolution, sequence variation and transcriptional regulation. Ensembl annotate genes, computes multiple alignments, predicts regulatory function and collects disease data. Ensembl tools include BLAST, BLAT, BioMart and the Variant Effect Predictor (VEP) for all supported species.
Swiss bioinformatics resource portal. See more details at https://www.sib.swiss/research-infrastructure/database-software-tools/sib-resources
A subset of the Online Bioinformatics Resources Collection (OBRC) compiled by the Health Sciences Library at the Universty of Pittsburgh (PA). Contains annotations and links for 2408 bioinformatics databases and software tools.
Copyright © Baylor® University. All rights reserved.
Report It | Title IX | Mental Health Resources | Anonymous Reporting | Legal Disclosures