Finding Images Using OneSearch
To find open access images using OneSearch, use advanced search to limit the material type to "images" then limit using the filters on the left-had side column to limit to "Available online" and "Open Access." Keep in mind that open access doesn't necessarily mean free access; images could still be under Copyright protection.
Finding Images Using Databases
Use the links below to explore images in databases provided by Baylor Libraries.
-
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
-
Theatre and drama premium This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable and browsable access to a variety of theatre arts related materials including all aspects of theatre and performance. Includes access to full-text plays, audio plays, filmed stage performances, documentaries, and other video content, contextualizing materials (designs, reference, and ephemera) including recent broadway productions and previously unpublished plays. Covers key writers, creators, and performers. Includes full content of the following collections: Drama Texts Collection Contemporary World Drama Black Drama: Third Edition Twentieth Century Drama: Second Edition Theatre in Performance Collection The BroadwayHD Collection The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection Theatre in Context Collection Performance Design Archive Online. Uses Alexander Street /ProQuest interface).
-
Shakespeare's Globe Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to material from the Shakespeares Globe Performance and Architectural Archives, which shows how productions at the reconstructed Globe and Sam Wanamaker Playhouse were conceived, rehearsed, dressed, marketed, sound tracked, how props were used, how the audiences behaved, and the theatre history and performance lessons that were observed and learned, along with information on about 170 different plays, concerts or events and over 400 different productions of these plays. The architectural archive includes material on how the reconstruction of the theatre was designed and planned and some of the conversations and debates that informed construction decisions, as well as material on the theatres annual reports, communications to its supporters, and oral histories detailing some of the early history of the reconstructed theatre. Keyword and advanced search options with filters for date, play, document type, season, theater, author and director. Limits for Image Gallery. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital.
-
Bloomsbury fashion central This link opens in a new window
Comprised of the Berg Fashion Library which provides access to a searchable portal of integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history and the Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases which provides real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion.
-
Vogue archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of Vogue (U.S. edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.
Finding Images in Digital Collections
Use the links below to find images in digital collections and websites.
-
DPLA Images
Search free images from the Digital Public Library of America collection.
-
Getty Images [embedded]
Embedded images for your non-commercial website or blog.
-
Library of Congress - Photos, Prints, Drawings
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
-
MorgueFile
Morguefile is a free photo archive “for creatives, by creatives.”
-
Arenapal
Digital archive of performance photography. Includes 5 million contemporary and historic performing arts images across our entire collection of opera, classical music, theatre, rock, pop, jazz, world music, circus, modern dance, comedy, ballet, musical theatre, education, authors, playwrights and musicians, representing over 350 collections from arts photographers and historic archives. -
McNay Art Museum Theatre Arts
The McNay's theatre collection emphasizes European and American stage design from the 1500s to the present. Highlights include Baroque festivals, Shakespeare Plays, the Ballets Resses, Broadway musicals, and contemporary operas. -
Vandamm Theatrical Photograph Archive, 1900-1957 (NYPL digital collections)
Verifying an Image Using Reverse Image Search
Do you have a great image but you don't know where it came from? Or, do you need copyright information about an image? Upload your image to one of the applications below to do a Reverse Image Search.
-
TinEye
Use image recognition to find out where an image came from, how it is being used or if modified versions of the image exist.
- Google Reverse Image Search
Use Google to search the web for an image instead of keywords
Evaluating Images
It's important to critically evaluate images you use for inspiration, research, and study. Images should be evaluated like any other source, such as journal articles or books, to determine their quality, reliability, and appropriateness. You'll want to evaluate the image itself, but also the text that accompanies or surrounds the image. The questions below may help you evaluate the image under consideration.
Content analysis
- What do you see?
- What is the image about?
- Are there people in the image? What are they doing? How are they presented?
- Can the image be interpreted different ways?
- How effective is the image as a visual message?
Visual analysis
- How is the image composed? What is in the background, and what is in the foreground?
- What are the most important visual elements in the image? How can you tell?
- How is color used?
- What meanings are conveyed by design choices?
Contextual information
- What information accompanies the image?
- Does the text change how you see the image? How?
- Is the textual information intended to be factual and inform, or is it intended to influence what and how you see?
- What kind of context does the information provide? Does it answer the questions Where, How, Why, and For whom was the image made?
Image source (See above: Reverse Image Search to find source)
- Where did you find the image?
- What information does the source provide about the origins of the image?
- Has the image been changed, cropped, or edited?
- Is the source reliable and trustworthy?
- Was the image found in an image database, or was it being used in another context to convey meaning?
Technical quality
- Is the image large enough to suit your purposes?
- Are the color, light, and balance true?
- Is the image a quality digital image, without pixelation or distortion?
- Is the image in a file format you can use?
- Are there copyright or other use restrictions you need to consider?
List adapted from University of Washington Libraries
