THEA 1380 Intro to Theatre Aesthetics

Many of the theatre-related materials in our library are organized by subject (examples below) and it's important to note that all of the theatre resources aren't found in the same part of the library! These links will take you to the materials collected under each subject heading. This list will also introduce you to some of the commonly used vocabulary for how to discover theatre related materials in libraries. For physical materials housed in the libraries (versus online resources), be sure to pay attention to the location and call number when you're looking at specific resources.

Examples of Theatre-Related Subject Headings

• Acting 
• Acting in Musical Theater
• Acting--Auditions
• Acting--History
• Acting--Psychological aspects
• Acting--Study and teaching
• Acting--Vocational guidance
• African American Theater
• Clothing and dress--History
• Costume--History 
• Costume design
• Costume designers
• Drama--Technique
• Drama Collections
• Dramatic Criticism
• Dramatic Production
• Dramatists, American
• Dramaturges
• Monologues
• Musical Theater
• One-Act Plays
• Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616--Dramatic production
• Set designers
• Stage lighting
• Stage management
• Theater audiences  
• Theater critics
• Theater--Dictionaries
• Theater--England
• Theater--Great Britain
• Theater--History
• Theater in art
• Theater in literature
• Theater--Ireland
• Theater--Moral and ethical aspects
• Theater--Political aspects
• Theater--Production and direction
• Theater--Religious aspects
• Theater--Reviews
• Theaters--Stage-setting and scenery
• Theatrical companies
• Theatrical Producers and directors
• Voice culture

You can also search for individual playwrights and other people as subjects, as well as organizations such as theater companies. If you're looking for the plays of Shakespeare. search for Shakespeare as the "author" but if you're looking for books ABOUT Shakespeare (or his works), you'll want to search Shakespeare as the "subject."

• Pinter, Harold, 1930-2008
• Pinter, Harold, 1930-2008--Criticism and interpretation
• Royal Shakespeare Company

A-Z list of theatre databases at Baylor 

browse all the different theatre related databases in one place! 

• The Internet Broadway Database 

  IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

 Sort Link Group  

• Variety archives : 1906-present 

  Includes almost every issue Variety has ever published, including articles, ads, front pages and back covers. Contents include the history of the entertainment business, information on film and television companies and their key players, and box office returns.