Guides: SWO 6384 Introduction to Doctoral Research: Finding Data &amp; Statistics

Data & Statistical Sources

ICPSR
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) is an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations and has a data archive in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
IPUMS USA
kaggle
"Kaggle provides a large repository of datasets that users can access and use for their projects. These datasets can be used for practicing machine learning, building portfolio projects, or participating in competitions."
IPUMS NHGIS
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.

PolicyMap
Social explorer

Provides access to 220 years of demographic data and 18 000 maps covering census, economic, election, religion data and more.
Reference Solutions

Provides directory information on U.S. business and residential listings.
Sage Data

Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications, state and private sources, and international organizations.
SimplyAnalytics

Enables users to create thematic maps, charts and reports using over 90,000 demographic, business, marketing and health data variables.
ProQuest statistical abstract of the U.S.

Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Statista : the leading statistics portal

Provides data on over 80 000 topics from more than 10 000 different sources.

data.Census.gov
Search interface for accessing and disseminating data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.