SWO 6384 Introduction to Doctoral Research

• OneSearch AI Assistant 

  Content Scope – (from Getting Started with Primo Research Assistant)
  All of the Central Discovery Index (CDI) metadata and abstracts (NO full text) are used, with these exceptions:
  -News content (Newspaper articles, Newsletters, Text resources).
  -Collections that are not marked as “free for search” in the CDI collection list (subscription A & I databases; e.g. Web of Science metadata)
  -Sources with insufficient metadata and abstracts to effectively run the tool.
  -Documents marked as withdrawn or retracted; retraction notes.
  -Any collections from the following content providers: APA, DataCite, Elsevier, JSTOR, Conde Nast
  -Any content published by the providers above coming via aggregator collections.

Goldman, Crystal;Turnbow, Dominique;Roth, Amanda;Chu, Tim;Mayberry, Christina. 2025.

This was presented at the LOEX 2025 conference in Pasadena, CA in May 2025. The presentation discussed a study conducted by a librarian research team at an R1 university that began testing the new Ex Libris Primo AI Research Assistant in 2024. The research team created a framework to assess the quality of results produced by this tool by inputting one year of research assistance queries from undergraduate writing program students and further comparing the output of a basic search to a prompt-engineered approach. Study findings will be presented along with a discussion of how librarians adapted their practice to integrate this AI tool into instruction and consultations.