About this Page
From Student to Professional - the importance of research literature
Students transitioning to professionals/practitioners in the field of Social Work (and no longer having a valid computer account login or Bear ID) will still want to access the research literature as they integrate research and practice.
This page provides two categories of resource links. Some links are freely accessible (open access) resources and some links are resources that identify (research literature, etc.) that you will have to further investigate for access options.
OER Textbook(s)
- Chapter 23 Program EvaluationGraduate Research Methods in Social Work: A Project-Based Approach
Matthew DeCarlo; Cory Cummings; and Kate Agnelli
Finding Open Access Scholarly Articles (use Databases)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
- Google scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text to pre-prints, accepted manuscripts, and published articles on biomedical and life sciences collected at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Finding Books (Use Catalogs)
- Worldcat.orgOCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide
- OneSearchSearch for your topic. Then use the filters on the lefthand side to refine your results:
1. activate the slide button for "Add results beyond BU Libraries"
2. select Open Access under the Availability filter
3. select Books under the Resource Type filter
Databases and Resources from Organizations and Agencies
- The Campbell CollaborationAn international research network which publishes systematic reviews of social and economic interventions around the world.
- Coalition for Evidence-Based PolicyThe Coalition for Evidence-Based Policy has been integrated into the Laura and John Arnold Foundation.
- Civic Research InstituteCriminal Justice, Health, Social Services, Behavioral Health, Law
- Evidence-Based Practices DatabasesList of Databases curated by the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
- The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide)Provides a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF).
- Social Programs that Work"This site focuses on the results of well-conducted randomized controlled trials (RCTs), which are widely regarded as the strongest method of evaluating program effectiveness."
- Social Work Policy InstituteThe Social Work Policy Institute examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services.
