Databases
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracts for journals in all academic subjects.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
- AgeLine This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed summaries of publications about older adults aged 50+ and about aging. Includes books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, dissertations, and videos.
- CINAHL with full text This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data and some full text for scholarly literature in nursing and allied health professions.
- Criminal justice abstracts with full text This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic information and full-text of articles on criminal justice and criminology.
- Embase This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographical information for scholarly material in biomedical and pharmacological sciences.
- Education research complete This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic information for articles and books for topics on all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties.
- Family studies abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, and family therapy.
- Google scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
- Humanities source This link opens in a new window
Indexes the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
- MEDLINE (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
- PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Indexes citations to scholarly literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of traumatic events.
- ProQuest social sciences premium collection This link opens in a new window
Covers all of the social sciences with deep coverage of sociology and politics, and extending to criminal justice, education, linguistics, and language behavior.
- Psychology & behavioral sciences collection This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, education, social work, sociology, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains material not yet indexed in Medline.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- Social work abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues, and problems.
- Sociological Abstracts (CSA Illumina : Online) Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes citations to book reviews and abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records. Searchable by author, title, keyword, descriptors, source, and 26 other fields. Covers the years 1952 to the present time. ProQuest/CSA.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed works in 254 disciplines. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
Journals - a few examples
- Journal of evidence-based social workThe Journal of Evidence-Based Social Work aims to disseminate peer-reviewed knowledge on the development, implementation, and ongoing use of evidence-based practice to advance the field of social work. Effective evidence-based practice includes a combination of clinical evidence for heterogeneous populations, expertise, practice wisdom, individual values, and community preferences to inform culturally responsive decision-making and approaches for a wide range of populations and settings.
Managing Citations
- Citation/Reference Management SystemsThe Baylor Libraries support three citation/reference management systems: Endnote, Refworks, and Zotero.
Citation management systems help you collect, organize and cite your scholarly or personal references. They also integrate with word processing software (i.e. Microsoft Word or Google Docs) to assist in generating in-text citations and bibliographies. Some systems also enable collaboration among scholars working on the same project.
