U.S. Census
The American Fact Finder from the Census Bureau is a great way to locate basic demographic information for people and businesses in the United States. The Guided Search walks you through the process of finding your information. Tell it who or what you are looking for, define your location and select the table that best fits your needs.
Advertising
These resources provide information about advertising in various media and company expenditures for advertising.
- SRDS media solutions This link opens in a new windowIncludes detailed ad rates, dates, and contact data for more than 100 000 U.S. and international media entities. Media areas include the following publications: Business Media Advertising Source, Consumer Media Advertising Source, Direct Marketing List Source, Newspaper Advertising Source, Radio Advertising Source, Print Media Production Source, TV and Cable Source, and Out-of-home Advertising Source.
- Winmo This link opens in a new windowConsists of two parts: The Agency Database and the Advertiser Database. The Agency Database contains detailed profiles of nearly 14 000 U.S. and international advertising agencies. Information contains accounts represented by each agency, fields of specialization, breakdown of gross billings by media, contact information and personnel. The Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on over 18 000 U.S. and international advertisers who spend more than $200 000 annually in advertising. Each listing contains advertising expenditures by media, current agency, brand name info, and contact information for key personnel. Lexis Nexis.
Industry information - databases
These are databases that will help you find industry information .
- BizMinerOffers industry financial analysis benchmarks for business and industry market trends.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides access to industry-related trade publications and industry profiles from a variety of sources.
- IBISWorldBusiness reports in four categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, global industry research, and business environment. Industry reports for China are also included.
- Mintel reports This link opens in a new windowThis resource offers research reports covering European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets. The reports analyse market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.
- SMA : sports market analytics This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting, and marketing. Covers not only big sports such as baseball, football, basketball but also inline skating, lacrosse, martial arts, skateboarding, and more. Also, contains content from Sports Fan Market 2010.
- SPORTDiscus with full text This link opens in a new windowBibliographic and full-text database covering conference proceedings, both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, and health education.
Datasets
Datasets provide information in the form of data from a variety of sources. This resource can provide demographic data about consumers as well as data on the consumption of different items. Please see your Baylor business librarian for help in using this database.
- Data PlanetProvides statistical data from U.S. government publications, state and private sources, and international organizations. Conduct search by keyword(s) and limit results by publishing organization, geographic region, local area, or broad subject. Data may be further restricted by demographic features (age, marital status, industry, etc.).
- How to Use Data-PlanetThis guide will take you through finding a datafile on Data-Planet.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowProvides demographic, education, health, geographic data and more. Offers the user the capability of presenting the data visually through maps, tables, and reports. This resource is geared toward non-GIS experts who want to analyze large amounts of data.
Business Librarian
Market Research Handbooks
The Following handbooks are available through the Business Source Complete database. They can be found by search the handbook title as "Source Title".
- Casinos, Gaming & Wagering
- Consumer Behavior
- Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook
- Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook
- Leisure Market Research Handbook
- Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook
- Retail Business Market Research Handbook
- Sports Marketing
- Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook
