Introduction
(Book of Kells)
The Bible is the sacred texts of Judaism and Christianity. The history and evolution of the Bible stretches from earliest Hebrew writings in 2000 BCE and develops in the fourth century into a single book form or pandect. The pandect is a complete text of every book combined into a single comprehensive volume (i.e. Old and New Testaments).
The Arts and Special Collections Research Center houses hundreds of rare and unique Bibles available for you to research and explore.
Find and Access
Bibles in our special collections can be discovered in OneSearch. Materials in the Special Collections will display a status of "By Appointment Only". This guide contains highlights from our Bible collection and includes call numbers to help request items.
Once you have identified an item or items that you would like to use, please use the Request a Visit form.
Purpose and Audience
This guide serves as a starting point for research and engagement with these unique and rare collections. It provides access to selected resources as well as instructional material to support your curriculum or individual research.
The Arts and Special Collections Research Center encourages students, faculty, visiting researchers and members of the community to explore our unique collections.
Special Collections require extra care and protection due to their unique nature. This means they are kept in spaces that do not allow public access and you will need to make an appointment to view them.
