Online Reference Resources
- Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a web-based subject specialist encyclopedia of philosophy. This resource is a "dynamic reference work" that is under ongoing revision, updating and expansion. A scholarly reference work, this resource is worth consulting by a range of researchers including philosophy students, students of the history of ideas, religious and theological researchers. Covers all areas of philosophy.
- Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the electronic version of the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full-text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography. Self-touted as "the definitive (philosophical reference) resource in the field " this is an important, reasonably current subject specialist philosophical encyclopedia. Of obvious relevance to students of philosophy, this work is also valuable for researchers in systematic theology or philosophical theology.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science, 4 Volume Set by ISBN: 9780470016190Publication Date: 2005-09-23An exciting reference work which captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980's. The Encyclopedia contains 696 articles covering in depth the entire spectrum of the cognitive sciences. Reviewing the common themes of information and information processing, representation and computation, it also covers in depth the core areas of psychology, philosophy, linguistics, computer science, and neuroscience. Ancillary topics such as education, economics, evolutionary biology and anthropology are also covered. The articles have been written to provide multiple levels of information so that readers from various levels can benefit from this set - from undergraduate and postgraduate students to university lecturers. With extensive cross-referencing, a glossary and subject index to further aid the reader through the book, the Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science is an essential addition to any library or office shelf. The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science (ECS) includes: 4 Volumes 4000 pages 696 articles Contributions from the world's leading experts 1,500 illustrations Detailed indexes and appendices Extensive cross-referencing
- Encyclopedia of inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry This link opens in a new window
Provides short scholarly articles about key topics in inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by ISBN: 9780123739445Publication Date: 2009-01-14Available as an exclusive product with a limited print run, Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles. Written at a level suitable for university undergraduates, the breadth and depth of coverage will appeal beyond undergraduates to professionals and academics in related fields. 16 separate areas of microbiology covered for breadth and depth of content Extensive use of figures, tables, and color illustrations and photographs Language is accessible for undergraduates, depth appropriate for scientists Links to original journal articles via Crossref 30% NEW articles and 4-color throughout - NEW!
Encyclopedia of Virology by ISBN: 9780123744104Publication Date: 2008-07-24Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of concise "mini-review" articles, this praised work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Now in five volumes, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. With over 25% new chapters and over 1000 illustrations, this edition takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism. Edited by leading Virologists Mahy and van Regenmortel, this third edition remains the number one all-inclusive source of information for virology researchers, students, and reference departments of academic, medical, and corporate libraries. Extensive coverage on AIDS and HIV, viral immunology and vaccines, the economic importance and control of virus diseases, and the origin, history, evolution and phylogeny of viruses -NEW! Four color throughout -NEW! Sections on future perspectives that show the direction of current research 25% NEW articles Glossary of key terms for easy referencing Information on viruses of human clinical interest, including the virus causing SARS -NEW! More than 20% NEW virus classifications The most recent information from the 8th International Committee on Taxonomy and Classification of Viruses -NEW! Recommendations for further reading and a list of other relevant entries
Encyclopedia of Ethics by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780415936729Publication Date: 2001-08-31The editors, working with a team of 325 renowned authorities in the field of ethics, have revised, expanded and updated this classic encyclopedia. Along with the addition of 150 new entries, all of the original articles have been newly peer-reviewed and revised, bibliographies have been updated throughout, and the overall design of the work has been enhanced for easier access to cross-references and other reference features. New entries include * Cheating * Dirty hands * Gay ethics * Holocaust * Journalism * Political correctness * and many more.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Call Number: Jones General Collection Oversize Oversize QH332 .E52 1995ISBN: 0028973550Publication Date: 1995-03-01This is a interdisciplinary study of the ethical and moral dimensions of human conduct in the areas of the life sciences and health care. It contains 460 articles and re-examines and expands on the previous edition.
Historical Research
Check out the timeline below, created by students in Dr. Barron's History of Medicine course (MH 4300) in the Fall of 2024! This timeline focuses on the intersection of technological writing advancements and medical knowledge dissemination
General Resources
- Oxford reference This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all of the Oxford dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference materials to which Baylor Libraries subscribe. Browse by subject (art, film studies, literature, etc.) or by reference type (timeline and quotation seem most helpful), or search for specific keyword(s) to locate entries across subjects. Browse feature limits results to those items owned by Baylor, keyword search returns results from all Oxford resources and you will want to use the limits to “free” and “unlocked” resources to access what Baylor owns. Overview pages provide a definition and summation of the topic searched with links to specific resources. Search results may be limited by specific subject, by content (quick reference or reference sources), and by sources with visual images.
- Wellcome Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides contemporary and historical digital images and stories pertaining to health and the human living condition.
- Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Each subject module includes a full set of entries (written by scholars in the field) covering a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes.
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment.
Racial Disparities
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of scholarship available online focusing on the lives and events that have shaped African Americans and African American history and culture.
- Anthropology - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Anthropology. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. Community tools allow users to upload, share, and discuss their discoveries. Individual user account required - see more for account setup information.
- Encyclopedia of social work This link opens in a new window
Provides over overview articles on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.
- Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Angela Doolin (Editor) byISBN: 9780028661742Publication Date: 2013-02-15"In more than 1,800 pages of alphabetical entries, each ranging from 500 to 1,2000 words, The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that, gave rise and continue to foster racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the US and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance, and this work is designed to bring vetted and accessible facts and analysis to experts and students as well as lay readers. "
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture by ISBN: 9780761969006Publication Date: 2002-12-26Race, ethnicity and culture are concepts that are interpreted in various and often contradictory ways. This Dictionaryof Race, Ethnicity and Culture provides the historical background and etymology of a wide number of words related to these concepts, looking at discourses of race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective. This new and up-to-date dictionary contains numerous references to both European and American concepts, debates and terms. Contributors to the dictionary include well-known anthropologists, biologists, lawyers, philosophers, sociologists and psychologists, enabling the Dictionaryto bring an interdisciplinary approach to the subject matter, and a rich variety of voice and content that would otherwise
Pre-Enlightenment Era
- Medieval studies - Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Renaissance and Reformation - Oxford bibliographies. This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Oxford dictionary of Byzantium This link opens in a new windowContains more than 5 000 searchable entries covering all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries, with special depth in subjects such as bureaucratic titles and fiscal terms, urban life, and rural economy.
