Skip to Main Content

Evidence Synthesis OLD VERSION

Other Review Types

**Systematic Review:** Seeks to systematically search for, appraise and synthesis research evidence, often adhering to guidelines on the conduct of a review.
Step	Difference from Systematic Review
Planning	Follow PIECES
Identifying	Follow PIECES
Evaluating	Follow PIECES
Collection	Follow PIECES
Explaining	Synthesis is typically narrative with tabular and perhaps graphical accompaniment. Analysis focuses on what is known leading to recommendations for practice. Analysis also focuses on what remains unknown and the uncertainty around findings leading to recommendations for future research.
Summarizing	Audience tends to be the research community and practitioners. Protocols are often registered Summaries are usually submitted to peer-reviewed journals.

**Scoping Review:** Preliminary assessment of potential size and scope of available research literature. Aims to identify nature and extent of research evidence (usually including ongoing research).
Step	Difference from Systematic Review
Planning	The research question can be broader and more topical.
Identifying	Same as for systematic review
Evaluating	Review all citations for inclusion due to relevancy Do not need critical appraisal
Collection	Not needed
Explaining	Synthesis is typically tabular with some narrative commentary. Analysis characterizes quantity and quality of literature, perhaps by study design and other key features.
Summarizing	Audience tends to be the research community and practitioners but also policy makers and agencies Protocols are sometimes registered, and summaries submitted to peer-reviewed journals or as reports.

**Rapid Review:** Assessment of what is already known about a policy or practice issue, by using systematic review methods to search and critically appraise existing research.
Step	Difference from Systematic Review
Planning	Does not need a team.
Identifying	Completeness of searching determined by time constraints. May search fewer databases and grey literature sources.
Evaluating	Review all citations for inclusion due to relevancy. Critical appraisal maybe truncated due to time limitations.
Collection	Data collection more focused with fewer data elements. Sometimes data is directly put into tables rather than using forms.
Explaining	Synthesis is typically narrative and tabular. Analysis focuses on the auantities of literature and overall quality/direction of effect of literature.
Summarizing	Audience tends to be policy makers and agencies. Summaries are often submitted as reports.

**Literature Review:** Generic term: published materials that provide examination of recent or current literature. Can cover wide range of subjects at various levels of completeness and comprehensiveness. May include research findings.
Step	Difference from Systematic Review
Planning	Can be conducted by a single researcher. Do not need to pose a research question using an established framework or establish a protocol.
Identifying	May use comprehensive searching as for systematic review.
Evaluating	May use formal criteria for inclusion due to relevancy. May include critical appraisal.
Collection	Not needed
Explaining	Synthesis is typically narrative. Analysis may be chronological, conceptual, thematic, etc.
Summarizing	Audience, summary type, and dissemination depend on the purpose of the review. Protocols are not registered.

**Scoping Review:** Technique that statistically combines the results of quantitative studies to provide a more precise effect of the results.
Step	Difference from Systematic Review
Planning	Same as for systematic review
Identifying	Same as for systematic review
Evaluating	Same as for systematic review
Collection	Same as for systematic review May include sensitivity analysis
Explaining	Synthesis is graphical and tabular with narrative commentary. Meta Analysis incorporates a numerical analysis of measures of effect assuming absence of heterogeneity.
Summarizing	Audience tends to be the research community and practitioners. Protocols are often registered Summaries are usually submitted to peer-reviewed journals.

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702

Osofast A-Z Databases OneSearch Profiles Library Account Login Hours