Finding letters in OneSearch
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
Letters are often listed as "correspondence," so try searching using the phrase "letters OR correspondence."
Databases that include Letters
- Nineteenth Century Literary Society This link opens in a new window
Provides digital access to materials from the archive of the John Murray publishing company. Sourced from the National Library of Scotland. The archive includes correspondence, advertisements, diaries, and official records from 1768-1900. Key figures include Lord Byron, Charles Darwin, David Livingstone, Sir Walter Scott, Jane Austen, and others. Search by keyword, title or author with filters for date, them, document type, and key figures. Adam Matthew Digital
- Literary manuscripts : Victorian manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of the New York Public Library This link opens in a new window
Provides both manuscripts and some rare printed material for a broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century. Authors include Matthew Arnold, the Brontes, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray. Some of the printed matter are early editions annotated by the authors. Included are unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts, and drawings trace the inspiration and genesis behind the period's greatest works. Provides a mass of personal correspondence revealing the close circles and interconnectedness of the Victorians. Searchable by keyword and by author collections, document type, document subtype, item author, and item recipient. Adam Matthew.
- Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of letters and documents representing edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
- Defining gender 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to original British sources exploring the concept of gender including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature.
- Brownings : A research guide This link opens in a new window
Provides an online research tool that facilitates the study of the works and lives of Robert and Elizabeth Barrett Browning and their circle. Lists bibliographically all known Browning-related material including the Brownings’ correspondence; a catalogue of their possessions; contemporary reviews of their works; secondary source material relating to the Brownings; and an unannotated bibliography of printed works.
- Letters of Matthew Arnold : a digital edition This link opens in a new windowPresents a full-text, searchable edition of 4 000 letters written by the Victorian critic and poet. Correspondence is annotated and may be searched by author or recipient, date, or keyword. Allows for wild card and proximity searching (“light*” and “dark*” within X number of words of each other). Includes a chronology of Arnold’s life and scholarly introduction to the correspondence.
- Letters of Christina Rossetti : a digital edition This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to the letters of Christina Rossetti, based on the 4 volume published correspondence edited by Anthony H. Harrison. Searchable by recipient, date, or keyword. Allows for wild card and proximity searching (“light*” and “dark*” within X number of words of each other). Includes a chronology of Rossetti’s life and scholarly introduction to the correspondence.
