Guides: BUS 2222: Intro to Energy Commerce (Green): Library resources for company information

Take a look at the industry

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Provides market research reports and forecasts in 25 distinct verticals and provides more information through partnerships with other market research providers, covering the life sciences; sensors; materials; environment and sustainability; commerce; and publishers.
IBISWorld where knowledge is power This link opens in a new window
Provides access to business reports in the following areas in U.S. site: industry market research, industry risk rating, business environment, global industry, and media center. Also provides access to business reports in the following areas in China site: industry market research and global industry. Resource is searchable by NAICS code, company name, product, service, and industry description.

North American Industry Classification System

Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the S&P Industry Surveys (U.S.), reports (stock & bond), directories (corporations, Security Dealers of North America), registers (public companies, private companies, executives), Compustat Excel Analytics, Mutual Fund Screener, investment advisory services (The Outlook), Stovall Sector Watch, Credit Week Focus, and more publications from Standard and Poor's. Financial Education section provides sound information on becoming financially fit.

Search for Companies

Mergent online This link opens in a new window
Offers coverage of 10 000 public companies and their SEC filings. Provides access to the following: U.S. company annual reports, full-text, color, international company annual reports, company financial information, in many cases going back up to fifteen years, industry reports, equity reports, information on company executives, and more. Resource offers the ability to download financial data into a spreadsheet and to create company comparison reports. Mergent.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Provides company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence and financial data on businesses. Allows users to build targeted company lists, identify business contacts and monitor business events. Note: Limited to 25 simultaneous users; please logout when done.

A list of companies for an industry can be generated by selecting the "Primary NAICS" option, listing the NAICS code for the industry and making a country selection. Both active and inactive companies will then be listed for the industry within a particular country.

PrivCo : private company financial data authority This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many well known privately-held companies. Information includes balance sheet and income statement figures, company overview, competitors, and funding activity when available. Searchable by company name, industry, location and annual revenue. M & A activity is also covered. ****Users must create an account using their Baylor e-mail address.

In Privco, you can search for individual company, but you can also search for companies within an industry by using the Advanced Search option. Just click on the magnifying glass icon in the left column, then make the appropriate selections.

Important: You will need to sign up for an account to use PrivCo. Accounts are free.

You must also use your Baylor email address to sign up for your account.

Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the S&P Industry Surveys (U.S.), reports (stock & bond), directories (corporations, Security Dealers of North America), registers (public companies, private companies, executives), Compustat Excel Analytics, Mutual Fund Screener, investment advisory services (The Outlook), Stovall Sector Watch, Credit Week Focus, and more publications from Standard and Poor's. Financial Education section provides sound information on becoming financially fit.

BUS 2222: Intro to Energy Commerce (Green)

Class Assessment

Take a look at the industry

Search for Companies

University Libraries