Director of the Liaison Program
Research & Engagement
Welcome
In this research guide you can find links to library resources for each aspect that you need to research for your campaign paper:
- Research on theory
- Research on your audience/market
- Research on a campaign model
Researching Theory
In the database Communication & Mass Media Complete or Academic Search Complete you can search for the different theories using the subject headings.
For example, choose "SU Subject Terms" from the drop down box and then search:
- "Social Judgment Theory"
- "Elaboration Likelihood Model"
- "Cognitive Dissonance Theory"
- "Narrative Paradigm Theory"
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for the core journals in the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication as well as non-core journals in additional fields which extend the resource to include the growing interdisciplinary nature of the field.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracts for journals in all academic subjects.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides abstracts for articles in popular and scholarly journals in a broad range of disciplines.
Researching Audience/Market
These databases provide access to all sorts of statistical data - on population, economics, employment, agriculture & food, industry,etc. You can use them to find information on the target audience or market that your campaign is aimed towards.
- American Fact FinderFrom Census.gov, a good source for population, housing, economic and geographic data.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsThe Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
- Bizminer This link opens in a new window
Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for business and industry market trends.
- FAOSTAT This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3 million time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture as well as the FAO Statistical Yearbook and the UN Working Papers.
- IBISWorld where knowledge is power This link opens in a new window
Provides access to industry research and company benchmarking reports.
- ProQuest statistical abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Researching Model (Means/Method)
Using business databases can be helpful in finding articles that discuss similar marketing campaigns. LexisNexis searches through recent news publications, and can be useful in seeing trends in what kinds of persuasive strategies are being used.
- Emerald insight This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles and reviews from the world's leading management journals.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides business information from scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text business journals and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics.
