CSS 5351 Methods in Graduate Studies

Provides indexing and abstracts for the fields of communication studies, journalism and mass communication. It includes over 700 journals, over 450 of those in full text. While it is primarily comprised of the core communication studies journals, it does also include non- core journals which help to extend the resource to include the growing interdisciplinary nature of the field.

Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary scholarly literature of the communication(s) field (mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication, and new media, journalism, communication history, etc.) and is searchable by word, phrase, or author. The records are also tagged with a controlled vocabulary of keywords and "metaterms."

Includes a "concept explorer" for discovering connections between articles and researchers.

Indexes all types of writing about television and film, including industry papers, news journalism, and scholarly academic journals. Subjects covered include film & television theory, preservation and restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Indexes essays and chapters in single and multi-author collections, plus selected annuals and serials. It includes publications from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain, covering 1985 to the present date

Includes citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150- word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.