Spanish Language Primary Sources
As the Library of Congress states, "Primary sources are the raw materials of history." The materials in our collections are your history-- our history. Researchers, classes, and community members are encouraged and welcome to visit and use the unique materials housed here at Baylor University.
The libraries hold a significant amount of primary source physical materials in our special collections for you to use for your research. You can visit these collections online from our library home page. Click on the ‘Visit’ tab to see the Special Libraries. Most of the items in these libraries/collections are listed in the online catalog through OneSearch. Please contact your librarian if you need help locating items.
Some addtional primary souce databases are listed here:
-
Biblioteca virtual Miguel de CervantesA virtual library that presents texts and criticism relating to Spanish and Latin American culture. Also provides some spoken and written samples of texts of classic works, and videos of interviews with authors. Provides links to sites at major libraries, links to electronic reference works such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, calculators, maps, etc. Though wide-ranging, it is also dependent on what is available in digital format, so there are wide gaps and inclusions in the materials presented.
-
Teatro español del siglo de oroA full text database of over 800 plays comprising 68 volumes written by the sixteen most prolific dramatists of the Spanish Golden Age (XVI and XVII centuries), including Lope de Vega, Calderon de la Barca and Tirso de Molina.
-
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary ResourcesThis site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title. Questions about the content of the listed collections or their links should be directed to the host library or archive. Please note that digital collections may be continuously added to. You are encouraged to revisit for updates and to revisit our site for newly added content to the database.
Spanish Lanuage Special Collections
Find and Access
Spanish titles in our special collections can be discovered in OneSearch. You can filter your search by language, and library (i.e. "Arts and Special Collections Research Center" or "Texas Collection") materials in the Special Collections will display a status of "By Appointment Only." Below you'll see highlights from our collection that includes call numbers to help request items.
Once you have identified an item or items that you would like to use, please use the Request a Visit form.
Highlights from the collection
- Poema de mío Cid : edición facsímil del manuscrito de Per Abbat, 1207 (facsimile, 2007) (Polk Oversize PQ6366 .A19 2007)
-
Cantigas de Santa Maria : authorship has been attributed to Alfonso X, King of Castille, 13th century (facsimile, 1979) (Polk M2112.A4 C3 1979)
-
Columbus, Christopher., and Consuelo. Varela. Documentos colombinos en la Casa de Alba, 15th century (facsimile 1987) (Polk Oversize E114 .V38 1987)
-
El ingenioso hidalgo Don Qvixote de la Mancha. Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de., 17th century (facsimile 1905) (Hughes PQ6323 .A1 1605b)
-
Un hueco en el pecho. Gloribel Delgado Esqilín, 2023. Artist Book, textile - hand-sewn binding with embroidery (Book Arts N7433.4.E86 H84 2023)
*images from Cantigas and Un heuco
