Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Other Reference Works
- Oxford music online This link opens in a new windowIncludes Grove Music Online, the major English-language encyclopedia of music, with extensive bibliographies and composers' works-lists.
- Cambridge companions to music This link opens in a new window
Provides access to e-books in the Cambridge Companion series for composers, instrumental music, opera, popular music, and more.. The essays are written by scholars in that field and provide background information and an analysis of the topic selected, offering a good starting point for research.
- Music online. African American music reference This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of African American musical expression, including blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms through essays, biographies, discographies, interviews, images, lyrics and scores
- Music online. Classical music reference library This link opens in a new windowOffers thousands of pages of reference materials on western classical music from many sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, reference works on individual composers, etc. Includes Baker's Dictionaries...
- Music online. The Garland encyclopedia of world music This link opens in a new windowProvides integrated online access to the ten-volume Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (audio and print editions available in the Fine Arts Library). Covers cultural music from all areas of the planet including genres, instruments, places, people, ensembles, and cultural groups. Includes audio examples. Alexander Street Press.
- Harvard Dictionary of MusicImportant music dictionary for musical terms and forms. Also includes entries on geographic areas, musical topics, periods, etc.
- A-Z Database listFrom the subject list, choose "music" to see just the resources for your discipline. You can also browse by content type or search for words in the title or description.
Index and Article sources
- Index to printed music This link opens in a new window
- Music index This link opens in a new window
- Music periodicals database This link opens in a new window
- RILM abstracts of music literature This link opens in a new window
Scores & Recordings
- Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
- International music score library project This link opens in a new window
- Met Opera on demand student access This link opens in a new window
- Music online This link opens in a new window
- Naxos music library. This link opens in a new window
- medici.tv This link opens in a new window
General Humanities sources
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new window
