Guides: Music: Resources

Resources

The Arts and Special Collections Research Center offers a significant number of resources - FOR YOU!

over 116,000 print music scores
approx. 54,000 print books
over 64,000 CDs and LPs

In addition to these print resources, the libraries host thousands of e-books and e-journals; and over 800 databases.

Below are a few core resources to help you as you begin your studies here at Baylor.

Reference Sources

Harvard Dictionary of Music
Important music dictionary for musical terms and forms. Also includes entries on geographic areas, musical topics, periods, etc.
Oxford Dictionary of Music online
Good starting point. Brief entries on people, places, musical terms and styles, etc. Part of the Oxford Reference collection.

Oxford music online This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive reference work for music in English, with continually updated content. Searches Grove Music Online initially; on search results pages, provides links to more results from The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Oxford University Press.

Articles and Databases

Journal articles and databases are key resources for you as you build knowledge in your discipline. Journal articles are accessed through OneSearch or in specific databases. Databases include a wide range of sources including e-journals, e-books, primary source materials, and streaming audio & video.

Here are some places to start:

Music index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for more than 475 periodicals in all areas of music, including articles, book reviews, recording reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Music periodicals database This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts for all types of music, drawn from more than 600 publications that include scholarly and popular periodicals, books, and reference works.
RILM abstracts of music literature This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of thousands of publications on all aspects of music.

Scores and Recordings

Print scores and analog recordings can be found in OneSearch. We continue to build online musical score and streaming audio/video resources.

Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
Provides access to live performances of the Berlin Philharmonic, as well as hundreds of concerts recorded over more than 50 years. The site also offers interviews, documentary films, and opera performances.
International music score library project This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to musical scores (public domain as well as music from composers who are willing to share their work with the world without charge). Includes more than 37,000 works, 93,000 scores, and 2,000 recordings, representing the works of more than 5,000 composers. Searchable and browseable by composer, genre, time period, nationality, melody, etc.
Music online This link opens in a new window
Provides a unified platform for searching across all of the Alexander Street Press music databases, including audio, video, scores, and full text. Includes the following collections: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Music in Video, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. Alexander Street Press.
Naxos music library. This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming access to thousands of recordings from classical, jazz, and world music labels. Also includes supplemental text resources and ability to create playlists.

Music

Resources

Reference Sources

Articles and Databases

Scores and Recordings

University Libraries