Research Help
One Bear Place 97148
Waco, TX 76798
Moody Library 308
Welcome to the Music Research Guide! This guide provides basic information on music research. You will find recommendations on how to start your research, find articles and books, find scores, and on reading and writing. Research in this discipline is multidisciplinary and highly creative including scholarship on music history, new music technologies, teaching approaches, and performance practices. Enjoy!
Purpose & Overview
This guide is here to provide a starting point for your research in the music discipline.
Guide Overview:
Exploring/Choosing a Topic:
- Provides resources to help you get started finding a topic for a project, paper, or performance, develop a strategy, and find background information.
Finding Articles and Books:
- Guides you to find and evaluate articles and books in OneSearch (the library catalog) and databases.
Finding Scores:
- Introduces various types of scores in our collection and how to find music materials in OneSearch and databases.
Reading:
- Provides resources to help you read and take notes efficiently.
Writing (and Citing):
- Lists information about the University Writing Center, introduces Chicago-Turabian style and tutorials, and lists additional resources about music research and writing.
Coming to the Library:
- Gives information about the Arts and Special Collections Research Center and answers to library FAQs.
Get Help:
- Contact information and online meeting scheduler for additional help!
Audience
This library guide is part of our “research basics” literacy tier. In this tier you will be introduced to the basics of academic research. The light bulb represents the next level of research skills and includes things like creating a research strategy and evaluating authoritative information. These concepts are conveyed in the classroom as well as through online learning modules, videos, and library guides.
