Index and Article sources
- Index to printed music This link opens in a new windowA finding tool used to identify individual works within scholarly editions published from 1720 to 2006, such as the complete works of composers and historical anthologies. IPM provides many ways to search -- by composer, editor, series, title, genre, instrumentation, and more. Once items are found, search OneSearch to see if the collection is available in the Crouch Fine Arts Library. IPM uses the EBSCOhost interface.
- Music index This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for more than 475 periodicals in all areas of music, including articles, book reviews, recording reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
- Music periodicals database This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations and abstracts for all types of music, drawn from more than 600 publications that include scholarly and popular periodicals, books, and reference works.
- RILM abstracts of music literature This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of thousands of publications on all aspects of music.
Scores & Recordings
- Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
Provides access to live performances of the Berlin Philharmonic, as well as hundreds of concerts recorded over more than 50 years. The site also offers interviews, documentary films, and opera performances.
- International music score library project This link opens in a new windowProvides free access to musical scores (public domain as well as music from composers who are willing to share their work with the world without charge). Includes more than 37,000 works, 93,000 scores, and 2,000 recordings, representing the works of more than 5,000 composers. Searchable and browseable by composer, genre, time period, nationality, melody, etc.
- medici.tv This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of recorded classical concerts, operas, ballets, master classes, and documentaries, as well as live broadcasts from major concert halls and music festivals. Watch through a web browser, or using AirPlay or Chromecast. Free apps are available for use on iOS and Android devices. The player automatically adapts to the user's connection to provide the highest possible level of video quality.
- Music online This link opens in a new windowProvides a unified platform for searching across all of the Alexander Street Press music databases, including audio, video, scores, and full text. Includes the following collections: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Music in Video, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. Alexander Street Press.
- Naxos music library. This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming access to thousands of recordings from classical, jazz, and world music labels. Also includes supplemental text resources and ability to create playlists.
General Humanities sources
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracts for journals in all academic subjects.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines.
- ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637.
