Electronic Resources
- LexisNexis StatisticalProvides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U. S. government publications, state and private sources, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations.
Internet resources
- DataplaceAn online source for housing and
demographic data about your
community, your region, and
the nation. - City-Data.comIf you ever need to research any city, zip code, or neighborhood for any reason, from considering a move there to just checking where somebody you know is staying, this is the site for you.
- Food Marketing InstituteFMI represents food retailers and wholesalers and develops and promotes policies, programs and forums supporting its members, their customers and supplier partners, and other industry stakeholders
- International Confectionery AssociationICA facilitates, coordinates and communicates international scientific, regulatory and public affairs information while promoting and representing the interests of the confectionery industry in a collaborative and responsible manner.
Government Websites
The government collects information on a variety of areas that could be helpful to you in market research. This includes information such as how many are within a geographic location and age/or ethnic distributions as well as consumer spending. The websites below are helpful in locating this information.
- Census BureauThe Census homepage provides a wealth of information: the 2000 census, American Community Survey, the Economic Census and more.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new windowFrom unemployment rates to payroll to consumer spending, the Bureau of Labor Statistics is the place to look for these facts. Well-organized sections on the left direct you to the information available through this website.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United StatesThe Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
- USDA - Economic Research ServiceThe Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture. ERS conducts a research program to inform public and private decisionmaking on economic and policy issues involving food, farming, natural resources, and rural development.
From the library...
- ACCRA Cost of Living Index byCall Number: Jones REF HD6983 .A65xISBN: 10709169This reference contains comparative data for 322 urban areas. Sections include urban area index data and averge prices for various commodities purchased by consumers.
The government also publishes many items as print resources. Handbooks, yearbooks and directories comprise just some of the resources which the United States government produces. These are a few of the resources which are housed in the Baylor University libraries which you may find useful.
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics by Call Number: Jones Ref HD 8051 H36ISBN: 1598883046Designed to provide information about the US labour force, this book presents, in tabular form, information and statistics about the american workforce (earnings, production, compensation) and trends in the American labor market.- Employment, Hours and Earnings byCall Number: Jones REF HD8051 .H362 2008ISBN: 1598882678This is a special issue of the Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics and contains earnings and employment figures for all 50 U.S. states.
