User Info
All sources on this page are linked either to their catalog record, their EBook link, or the website of interest.
Books
Historical First Patents by Call Number: T223.P2 B76 1994ISBN: 0810828987Publication Date: 1994-09-01This book covers the A to Z's of America's first inventions. Each of the more than 80 stories of first inventions provide a historical evaluation of the steps leading up to the invention, a biographical sketch of the inventor, and a brief description of how the invention was made. Includes patent drawings.
Intellectual Property by
"The new information landscape is raising more questions than ever about intellectual property. The advent of Google, YouTube, iPods and URLs has led to a plethora of court cases involving copyrights, trademarks, and patents." "Against this rapidly changing background, copyright expert Timothy Wherry takes a look at intellectual property issues and provides the perspective and tools library patrons and staff need." "Containing examples, trivia, and accounts of real-life court cases that bring alive the issues in intellectual property, this book protects you from overstepping the bounds of legal use in a fast-changing digital environment."--BOOK JACKET.
Call Number: KF2980 .W44 2008ISBN: 9780838909485Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Intellectual Property Law in the Sports and Entertainment Industries by
In this detailed yet readable legal analysis, the authors thoroughly evaluate the connections between intellectual property and the sports and entertainment industries, covering everything from copyrights and patents to trademarked logos and marketing strategies. * Provides a complete survey of intellectual property law in the sports and entertainment industries including copyright, patents, trademarks, trade dress, trade secrets, and the right of publicity * Fills a growing need for information about entertainment-specific intellectual property law as entertainment programs at the universities and law schools are increasing at both the undergraduate and graduate levels * Addresses the specific challenges and issues brought about by various forms of digital technology
Call Number: KF2979 .C46 2014ISBN: 9780313391637Publication Date: 2014-03-28
Patent Fundamentals for Scientists and Engineers by
Patent Fundamentals for Scientists and Engineers provides a clear explanation of the patent system and patent principles. Designed for non-lawyers, this book includes information on the patenting process, obtaining patent protection, and how to recognize patentable inventions and avoid legal problems of infringement. The nontechnical style of this book makes it easy to read and understand. It is an ideal book for anyone without prior legal knowledge who needs to understand the patent system, including scientists, engineers, inventors, researchers, business managers, entrepreneurs, and patent liaison workers. By providing a basic working knowledge of patents, Patent Fundamentals for Scientists and Engineers enables non-specialists to communicate with patent advisors to make well-informed decisions affecting the course of research programs and other endeavors that result in new and patentable products. Anyone who is concerned with creating, promoting, or profiting from new ideas and inventions, either as an individual or as a member of a corporate team, will find essential, practical information regarding patents and the patent system in Patent Fundamentals for Scientists and Engineers.
Call Number: T339 .G67 1995ISBN: 0873713176Publication Date: 1995-07-19
Patents Demystified by
For tinkers, entrepreneurs, investors and any business with products or processes that can be patented, Patents Demystified provides an easy-to-understand insider guide to patents, patent law, and the patent application process. Based on the author's first-hand experience with both successful and failed companies of all sizes, readers learn the secrets of maximizing patent protection on any budget, with strategies that can be tailored to companies with any business plan or product. Instead of being intimidated and confused by patents, readers will discover how to proactively work with a patent attorney to craft a customized patent strategy, thereby taking the mystery out of what can be an arduous and complicated process.
Call Number: KF3114.A73 2015ISBN: 9781634251679Publication Date: 2015-12-07
Patent Searching for Librarians and Inventors by
Presents basic information on patents and their relation to copyrights and trademarks. Profiles seven steps to searching U.S. patents. Appendixes include "Thirty Often Asked Questions and Their Answers for the Amateur Inventor", patent libraries, and informative documents published by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.
Call Number: T210 .W44 1995ISBN: 0838906419Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Patents for Business by
In a world where intellectual property is your most valuable asset, patents are becoming an essential tool for achieving and maintaining a competitive edge. With billions of dollars at stake, strategic management of patents is becoming a critical business function. In this accessible and practical guide, Henry Heines shows readers how to appply "due diligence," a common concept in corporate finance and investing, to analyze the costs and benefits of patent management, and to navigate through the legal and technical maze. With dozens of examples from many industries, he walks readers through the various ways in which technological advances can be presented as patentable inventions and in which the patents of competitors can be confronted and evaluated. He also offers guidance in managing a portfolio of patents and inventions, regardless of whether they make it to market as products. A glossary of terms and listing of resources will make this book a handy reference for anyone involved in product development, corporate strategy, or intellectual property.
Call Number: KF3114.6 .H395 2007ISBN: 9780275993375Publication Date: 2007-01-30
Understanding Patent Law by
In fiscal year 2008, the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) received 456,321 utility patent applications. Understanding Patent Law: A Beginner's Guide explores the mechanics of the patent application process. Linda A. Tancs provides readers with an introduction to the nature and function of intellectual property law as it relates to patents and offers step-by-step guidance on how to register a patent with the PTO. In addition, the readers will gain an understanding of: the types of property that may be patented; how to protect and use patented property; the process for filing a utility patent application; pre- and post-issuance procedures; how to monetize patents; and infringement issues. The appendices, together with the bibliography and recommended reading section, provide readers of this Almanac with relevant statutes and other information to further the reader's knowledge of the matters discussed in this book. The glossary contains a summary of key terms defined throughout the book. This user-friendly resource is essential for anyone seeking an introduction to patent law.
Call Number: KF3114.85 .T36 2010ISBN: 9780199730230Publication Date: 2010-04-14
