Multidisciplinary
- Directory of open access journals : DOAJ This link opens in a new window
Indexes the scholarly and scientific literature in open access journals (journals which do not charge the individual or the institution a subscription fee but make their content freely available). Journals indexed must be peer-reviewed or have editorial quality control and report results of research to a scholarly community to be included in the indexing. Access to full text varies by journal. All languages and subjects are covered. Search for articles by keyword (with Boolean "and/or/not" connectors), search journals by title, or browse journals by broad subject categories. DOAJ, Lund University Library (Sweden).
Citation Databases
Specialized Databases
Please note that this is not an exhaustive list of relevant databases. Explore other databases here.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and peer reviewed articles on the history of the United States and Canada.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Indexes popular and scholarly journal articles, essays, indigenous/First People's newspapers, books, and book reviews on all aspects of indigenous people of the United States and Canada.
- Environmental History This link opens in a new window
Resource covering the history of the environment and conservation efforts across the globe from the late 1800s onwards.
- Gale OneFile Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Covers ethnic and social diversity issues.
- Gale OneFile Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides a collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format covering gay and lesbian studies, intended primarily for academic researchers.
- Human rights studies online This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive, comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes in the 20th and 21st centuries.
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines.
- MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Philosopher's index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. For access to the scholarly journal literature of Philosophy, this index is the most important available.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, behavioral science, and mental health.
- Race relations abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Social theory This link opens in a new window
Provides an extensive range of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day.
- Sociological abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
