Art History

Available online via Oxford Art Online. With nearly 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and featuring regular updates, Benezit is one of the most comprehensive and definitive resources on artists in the English language. Entries are clear and concise, and Benezit contains thousands of auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies.

Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this dictionary contains concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons.

Contains more than 2,000 entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries. There are biographical entries for artists worldwide from the beginning of the 20th century through to the beginning of the 21st. International coverage, indications of public collections and publicly sited works.

Over 2600 entries, approximately half covering artists, from classical times to the twentieth century. Other entries discuss art styles and movements, art forms (such as battle painting, landscape, caricature, or stained glass), specialist terms, and materials and techniques in all media. Includes regional and cultural surveys, entries on specific places of importance and entries on museums and galleries are arranged under the their city so that the reader can easily survey the major sites within a particular locality.