Art History

Collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory, and practice of art, design, and architecture. Includes biographies, profiles of contemporary artists and architects, surveys of art history, aesthetics, theory, criticism, and more, spanning from Greek and Roman forms to modern. Options to create, edit, and share playlists or clips. Alexander Street Press.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on topics in  art history. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.

Provides access to mid 20th-century art history literature and contemporary criticism of art through periodicals, yearbooks, and select museum bulletins. Cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 (published between 1929 and 1984). 

Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. 

Provides indexing and abstracting for journal articles, monographs, collections of essays, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition catalogs in the arts. Provides access to two art literature databases: BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'Histoire de l'Art) covering the years 1990-2007 and RILA (Repertoire de la Litterature de l'Art), covering 1975-1989. Includes abstracts and subject terms. Covers visual arts in all media including traditional fine arts (painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture), decorative and applied arts, material culture, photography and contemporary new media, and visual arts aspects of the performing arts. Includes European art from late Antiquity to the present, American art from the European arrival to the present, and Christian and, European art in Africa, Asia, and Australia.

Provides access to research for the disciplines of drama, music, art history, and film making.

Indexes art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century. 

Indexes articles from around 400 scholarly and popular periodicals, as well as some books. Includes reviews, biographical profiles, obituaries, interviews, and more. 

ARTstor is now part of Jstor but this link will get you there! -- Provides access to more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Serves as a portal to several important art related resources: Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Search by terms biographies, subject entries, or images. Oxford University Press.

Provides full-text coverage to over 600 full-text journals, over 200 full-text books, and over 60 000 images in art and architecture from 1929-present. Combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. 

Comprised of the Berg Fashion Library which provides access to a searchable portal of integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history and the Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases which provides real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion.

Draws on the manuscript collections of over 25 university libraries and special collections. This resource unites “. . . scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.”

Provides access to cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide.

Emphasizes primarily western Europe. The "Index" is a record of Christian art in over 17 media types from the early apostolic times to 1550 (some collections include up to the mid 16th century). Recently Christian art from the Coptic and Near Eastern Christian traditions has been included. Each image is assigned a primary subject (the person(s), event, or scene in the image) and other subject fields to identify the other items in the image. Information on the image includes (as applicable): artist, name and location of work, medium, object type, style, school, date, dimensions, and description. Browse pre-defined fields by keywords, simple and advanced search features are also available. The online version contains only about 30% of the images and information available in the card index available at Princeton University. In 1957 the 100 000th image was added to the record and approximately 1 000 images have been added to the collection annually since then. The online database began in 1991 and contains nearly 80 000 works of art. Not all images are available for viewing due to copyright restrictions. Image quality varies greatly and may be black & white or color. Image records include a bibliography of scholarship on the image where it exists. N.B.: FROM SEARCH RESULTS LIST click on the number in the left column to access the images and bibliographic information in which you are interested. Princeton University.

Collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory, and practice of art, design, and architecture. Includes biographies, profiles of contemporary artists and architects, surveys of art history, aesthetics, theory, criticism, and more, spanning from Greek and Roman forms to modern. Options to create, edit, and share playlists or clips. Alexander Street Press.

Provides digital access to preserve texts, records, maps, photographs, recordings, and other forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.

Provides access to cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide.