It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visit the links below for more information about the work of Texas Education Agency's Educational Technology unit in the Division of Instructional Materials and Educational Technology and statewide educational technology initiatives.
Local education agencies (LEAs) can use this tool—similar to a Consumer Reports for instructional materials—to strengthen and improve the efficiency of their local review processes. By making it easier for LEAs to select high-quality instructional materials, TRR will help teachers focus their time and energy on what matters most—bringing lessons to life for all students.
Provides a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books, electronic resources, web sites, and periodicals for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids. Searchable by author, title, keyword, subject, abstract, Dewey number, LC number, publication year, award, best list, etc. Can be limited by year of publication, recommendation level, document type, grade level, category (fiction, non-fiction, biography), and Dewey Decimal number range. Web sites may be found by choosing to search "subjects" and, entering "web sites.", Limited older, archival material is included. H. W. Wilson.
Provides access to important and relevant information about Pre K-12 media of all types including books, DVDs, videos, and audio books. Includes the full text of reviews from respected publications. Searches may be limited or qualified by award winners, ages, grade, category (fiction, nonfiction), publication date, language, author/illustrator, series, publisher, country of publication, reading metrics, and 12 genres such as biography, fantasy, horror, science, sports. In each listing of titles, a green dot means that one or more reviews are present, and an orange dot means that curriculum tools are available. The results of each search is presented in relevancy order with the lists can be sorted by year of publication, author, title, language, Dewey Decimal Number, LC Classification, or lexile number. A browse option allows browsing by author, reviewer, subject, LC classification, Dewey Classification, or text words in the reviews. Formerly called Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database.
Provides a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young people in grades five through nine, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists. Among nonfiction entries, special importance is given to works devoted to technology, personal values, and current social and political issues, with special emphasis on ethnic diversity. Topics of particular importance are the World Wide Web, virtual reality and other new technologies, environmental problems, animal ecology, and the protection of endangered species. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. Web sites may be found by choosing to search "subjects" and entering "web sites.", H. W. Wilson.
Offers a resource designed to provide access to journal articles and selected reference sources for elementary school children. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Reference sources include the Encyclopedia of Animals™, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, and the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin. EBSCOhost.
Provides a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades nine through twelve. Consists of fiction titles, nonfiction titles, and short story collections. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction and story collections are designated Fic and S C. Web sites may be found by choosing to search "subjects" and entering "web sites.", H. W. Wilson.
Provides a subset of Education Research Complete covering key education topics. Includes such topics as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education for K-12 Teachers & Librarians. Contains articles in periodicals and book chapters. Searchable by author, title, subject terms, geographic terms, abstract, journal name. EBSCOhost.
CK-12 is a website that offers a variety of free lessons in STEM subjects (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math). The site breaks down traditional book chapters into smaller, bite-size ideas that may be easier for kids to digest.
As part of Race to the Top federal funding, the New York State Education Department worked with various partners to develop curriculum materials for grades Pre-K to 12 in both Mathematics and English Language Arts (ELA), and these materials are available for download from EngageNY.
Great Minds is a rapidly growing non-profit organization developing world class curricula for PK-12. Our mission is to ensure all students have access to a quality education and the full range of liberal arts and sciences.
This resource for K-12 teachers and students developed by the Hermon Dunlap Smith Center for the History of Cartography at the Newberry Library is designed to bring historically significant map documents into your classroom. Inside are high quality images of historic map documents that illustrate the geographical dimensions of American history.
Each map is accompanied by lesson plans written for four grade levels and designed to support a variety of social studies, history, and geography curricula.
With some schools temporarily shuttered or on a staggered schedule because of the ongoing pandemic, many kids are learning from teachers conducting lessons remotely or through a mix of in-class and remote schooling.
With that in mind, the U.S. Census Bureau’s Statistics in Schools (SIS) program created several new online resources for teachers, parents and caregivers to keep children engaged while distance learning.
Based on the EngageNY curriculum, UnboundEd provides free, standards-aligned PreK-Grade 12 resources in English Language Arts and Mathematics. These are enhanced by free professional learning resources, including teaching guides, videos and podcasts.
The Career Center has a Practice Occupation Exams section which includes NCLEX-RN practice exams and review, plus resume writing resources, job search tools and much, much more. You can browse the resources without a login, but to look into the NCLEX-RN practice exams, you will need to register first. It's free to register for Baylor University students.
Since 1964, the Institute for Educational Leadership (IEL) – a non-profit, nonpartisan organization – has been at the forefront of innovative efforts that bring together leaders across the various sectors of education (P-20), workforce development and child- and youth-serving systems. IEL builds partnerships across institutional boundaries, helping individuals and institutions tackle leadership challenges and leverage the resources of multiple partners to foster reform. For IEL, deep and purposeful collaboration is essential to getting results that will transform learning for the 21st Century.
The National Clearinghouse for Leadership Programs, through the development of cutting edge resources, information sharing, and symposia, supports leadership development in college students by serving as a central source of professional development for leadership educators. The National Clearinghouse for Leadership Programs also works to connect leadership educators to one another and support those developing leadership programs in their communities.
This is an excellent source of information about how to find and obtain grants. Includes online help( Ask Us) and free tutorials, e.g., Proposal Writing Short Course, Proposal Budgeting Basics. They also offer fee-based classes on grant writing.
Contains information about, and links to, more than 25 000 funding opportunities available from government, foundation, and private sources. User-friendly filters allow for precision searching, including opportunities for students and for early-career researchers. Optional features include researcher profile pages, profile-generated funding recommendations, saved searches and alerts, and export of funding opportunity descriptions. Tutorials are included. Produced by Cazoodle, Inc.
Covers statistics, probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics with emphasis in applications of statistical methods in sociology, engineering, computer science, biomedicine, psychology, survey methodology, and other disciplines.
These data are used to keep track of changing educational qualifications of the population by age, sex and race, and other characteristics, and are used by schools, governments, businesses and the public.
Provides full-text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological Association (APA), the APA Education Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage of some journals from 1894. EBSCOhost.
Provides citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 99 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from nearly 2 000 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Can limit by publisher, publication year, publication status, publication type, document type, book type, peer reviewed, language, population group, age group, intended audience, methodology and classification codes. EBSCOhost.
Provides access to citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some links to full-text content. Some coverage back to 1809. Covers chemicals and bioassays, DNA and RNA, data and software, domains and structures, genes and expression, genetics and medicine, genomes and maps, homology, literature, proteins, sequence analysis, taxonomy, training and tutorials, and variation. Searchable by author, date, grant number journal, MeSH variables, EC/RN number, etc. Limitable by type of article species, subsets, language, sex, age, etc. PubMed is part of the larger NCBI website. Customizable personal accounts available.
Provides access to bibliographic information of journal articles through the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1900 to present. Search by topic, author, publication, editor, language, etc. Provides citation information. Limitable by facets. Customizable personal accounts.
In the past 15 years, important developments have occurred in the field of testing, requiring significant revision to Standards. Five areas, in particular, receive attention in the 2014 revision: Examining the accountability issues for the uses of tests in educational policy; Broadening the concept of accessibility of tests for all examinees; Representing more comprehensively the role of tests in the workplace; Taking into account the expanding role of technology in testing; Improving the structure of the book for better communication of the standards"
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments. Contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Limitable by test category, administration, publication date, and reviews. EBSCOhost.