It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digitized special collection on the American west in fact and imagination drawn from the Graff Collection of the Newberry Library. Contains full-text and image resources including papers of pioneers and explorers, emigrant guides, travel journals, maps, printed books, newspapers, posters, city directories, railroad company records, and store catalogs. Covers all areas west of the Mississippi, including Canada and the Pacific Northwest, Mexico, and Texas. Divided into 11 major thematic areas, including: Native Americans, the Gold Rush, the Mormon Exodus, and Outlaws, (among others). Documents/books are dated between 1817 – 1962. Supported with scholarly essays on various aspects of the West and the Graff Collection, a chronology, an image gallery (from which slideshows may be created). Fully searchable, documents section may be browsed by list, theme, region, or document type (diary, broadside, photograph, etc.). May be searched alone or together with the American Indian Histories and Cultures collection. Adam Matthew.
Covering Native American cultures from prior to the colonization of the North American continent (Canada, Mexico, and the United States) to the Rights Movement of the 20th century, the materials in this collection cover 11 broad themes in culture, history, education, religion, government relations, treaties and wars, trade, and 20th century political activism, among others. Includes coverage of indigenous peoples from Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Primary source documents, maps and atlases, visual images, art, photographs, linguistic and ethnographic accounts, 20th century American Indian newspapers, etc. Drawn from the Ayers Collection at the Newberry Library, a premier collection of Native and Indigenous documents, art, and history. May exclude some culturally sensitive materials regarding ceremonies and religious practices. Images may be selected to create slideshows. Searchable by keyword, browse by Tribes & Nations, documents, maps, visual resources, and chronology. Most materials are in English, but there are documents and maps in Spanish and French. Cross-searchable with The American West. Adam Matthews.