Databases
Biology Databases
- BIOSIS This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic references for scholarly material covering life sciences and biomedical research including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, molecular and cellular biology, pharmacology, and zoology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains material not yet indexed in Medline.
- Embase This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographical information for scholarly material in biomedical and pharmacological sciences.
- bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly non-peer reviewed unpublished preprints for the life sciences reporting new, confirmatory or contradictory findings but not clinical research.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
***Baylor is trialing Scopus AI add-on for the month of October *** Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
***Baylor is trialing the WoS Research Assistant add-on for the month of October*** Provides citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed works in 254 disciplines. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
- JoVE This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed scientific videos journal articles. Articles consist of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols.
List of all Biology Databases
Journals
Selected Biology Journals
Selected Biology Journal Collections
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window Contains full-text journal articles and books on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- Cochrane library This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
- BioMedCentral This link opens in a new window Provides access to peer-reviewed full-text articles in biology, health sciences, and medicine.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window Provides full-text to pre-prints, accepted manuscripts, and published articles on biomedical and life sciences collected at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Biology Journals subscribed by Baylor University Libraries
Books
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by
Wiley is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the prestigious Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) from the Nature Publishing Group. "The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" --American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent..." --Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." --American Reference Books Annual
ISBN: 9780470015902Publication Date: 2005-09-09
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by
Available as an exclusive product with a limited print run, Encyclopedia of Microbiology, 3e, is a comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and includes a glossary, list of abbreviations, defining statement, introduction, further reading and cross-references to other related encyclopedia articles. Written at a level suitable for university undergraduates, the breadth and depth of coverage will appeal beyond undergraduates to professionals and academics in related fields. 16 separate areas of microbiology covered for breadth and depth of content Extensive use of figures, tables, and color illustrations and photographs Language is accessible for undergraduates, depth appropriate for scientists Links to original journal articles via Crossref 30% NEW articles and 4-color throughout - NEW!
ISBN: 9780123739445Publication Date: 2009-01-14
- Evolutionary biology - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on evolutionary biology. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Encyclopedia of Ecology by ISBN: 9780080454054Publication Date: 2008-01-01The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied. It includes over 500 detailed entries, structured to provide the user with complete coverage of the core knowledge, accessed as intuitively as possible, and heavily cross-referenced. Written by an international team of leading experts, this revolutionary encyclopedia will serve as a one-stop-shop to concise, stand-alone articles to be used as a point of entry for undergraduate students, or as a tool for active researchers looking for the latest information in the field. Entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology Ecological Processes Ecological Modeling Ecological Engineering Ecological Indicators Ecological Informatics Ecosystems Ecotoxicology Evolutionary Ecology General Ecology Global Ecology Human Ecology System Ecology * The first reference work to cover all aspects of ecology, from basic to applied * Over 500 concise, stand-alone articles are written by prominent leaders in the field * Article text is supported by full-color photos, drawings, tables, and other visual material * Fully indexed and cross referenced with detailed references for further study * Writing level is suited to both the expert and non-expert * Available electronically on ScienceDirect shortly upon publication
Other Resources and Related Information
Biology Class Guides
Other Useful Databases and Websites
- Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window An interactive anatomy platform containing 3D human models with high resolution selectable parts. Includes resources and tools for instructors. See more info for instructions for downloading the app
