Guides: Social Media Data Extraction: Mining & Analyzing Social Media Data

Why Mine Social Media Data

Social Media can be mined for three pieces of information: Content, Marketing Metrics, and Network Relationships. For example, Twitter provides rich text content that can be mined and analyzed. Facebook, on the other hand, provides great metrics to see how well an organization is drawing attention to its posts. Finally, just about any social media platform contains relationships between people and the content they post.

Here are some examples:

Marketing

An owner of an organization or fan page may want to measure the Applause Rate (likes per post), Conversation Rate (replies per post), and Amplification Rate (shares per post) of their own page and peer/competitor pages in order to rank their social media penetration.
Consumer sentiment around a product or service can be mined and analyzed.

Social Sciences

Discussions around key issues or hashtags can be mined and analyzed for sentiment levels and hot topics within the issue can be identified.

Health

Discussions around new medications can be mined and analyzed to identify consumer concerns and unforeseen side effects.

Events

Discussions around a conference can be mined and analyzed as part of a larger assessment study.

Mine Social Media Data

Data Repository for NaN Group
Here we list our public datasets and tools for processing data for researchers and people who are interested. Most datasets were collected and prepared for research projects by NaN members.
Network Repository: Social Networks
This large comprehensive collection of network graph data is useful for making significant research findings as well as benchmark data sets for a wide variety of applications and domains (e.g., network science, bioinformatics, machine learning, data mining, physics, and social science) and includes relational, attributed, heterogeneous, streaming, spatial, and time series data as well as non-relational machine learning data.
Social Computing Data Repository
As a service to the Machine Learning, Data Mining, and Social Sciences communities, the Social Computing data repository currently hosts datasets from a collection of many different social media sites.
Trump Twitter Archive
Search and download all of Trump's Tweets

Twitter Keyword/Hashtag Search
This Python Jupyter Notebook allows free downloading and analyzing of approximately 7 days of Twitter content based on a keyword or hashtag search. Requires Python 2.7.
Facebook Group Analyzer
This Python Jupyuter Notebook will download the Facebook posts on a group or fan page, along with the numbers of comments, likes, and shares for each post. Bar charts are created providing overall and monthly social media metrics for conversation rates, amplification rates, and applause rates. Requires Python 2.7.
NVivo
Use NCapture, a web browser extension, to quickly and easily capture content like web pages, online PDFs and social media for analysis in NVivo 10 for Windows, NVivo 11 Pro for Windows and NVivo 11 Plus for Windows.
NodeXL
Twitter, YouTube, Flicker, Facebook
TAGS - Twitter Archiving Google Sheet
TAGS is a free Google Sheet template which lets you setup and run automated collection of search results from Twitter.

Many social media sites have APIs (application programming interface) that provide access to their content, including Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube.

Facebook Apps
The Graph API is the core of Facebook Platform, enabling developers to read from and write data into Facebook. The Graph API presents a simple, consistent view of the Facebook social graph, uniformly representing objects in the graph (e.g., people, photos, events, and pages) and the connections between them (e.g., friend relationships, shared content, and photo tags)
Twitter Apps
Application registration & configuration for developers using the Twitter REST & Streaming APIs.
YouTube Data API
The YouTube Data API lets you incorporate functions normally executed on the YouTube website into your own website or application. The lists below identify the different types of resources that you can retrieve using the API. The API also supports methods to insert, update, or delete many of these resources.
Instagram Graph API

Social Media Data Extraction: Mining & Analyzing Social Media Data

Why Mine Social Media Data

Mine Social Media Data

University Libraries