Theatre Arts

Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally.

Digital library of over 25,000 scripts of more than 6,000 living playwrights.
Downloadable (PDF) scripts of contemporary drama, searchable by plays, people, and organizations. Includes filters by cast size and type, age level, genre, subject matter, production history, actor and narrative attributes, and playwright location.

Indexes plays written in or translated into English from antiquity to the present including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama.

Contains 1 009 scripts by 1 062 writers. It also contains facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Many of the scripts have never been published. The database is full-text searchable and includes detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers and awards given to individual films have been noted.

Provides a digital collection of scripts and author information. Features plays from noted playwrights as well as lesser known dramatists, the collection includes works by over 300 writers. The full range of dramatic styles, genres, and traditions is represented, from widely studied and frequently performed plays to important examples of radical theatre, regional theatre, postcolonial theatre, women's theatre, and popular forms such as farce and thriller that are often under-represented in surveys of the period. Searches may be done for playwright, title, and keyword in the play. Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey.

Provides full text copies of plays, farces, operatic and musical dramas, burlesques, and other forms of theatrical entertainment which appeared on the American stage between 1820-1900. Keyword and advanced search features, with limits for subject, author, place of publication, language, and genre. Readex.

Contains the full text of more than 1 500, American dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century. Numerous other genres are represented in the collection. 

Access prompt books for Shakespeares plays from the collection of prompt books in the Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington, DC. Prompt books are the script of the play marked up to show notes on a specific production, including any changes made to the play (cutting scenes, rearranging dialogue, etc.), and may include instructions on technical production elements such as lighting, music, and stage directions. The collection covers 42 plays from a production of Twelfth Night in the 1600s to a 1975 production of The Tempest, and includes British, American, and international productions. Search features include a browse by play, simple, and advanced search. Interactive features include viewing two prompt books of the same play side-by-side, an introduction to prompt books and common annotations seen in them, and a chronology. A section on case studies delves more deeply into seventeen productions of various plays. There is a glossary and biographies of well-known Shakesearian actors and directors. Adam Matthew.

Provides a subject, author, and title index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. 

Provides the full text of a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays, each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production. Searchable with a quick search or advanced search by author, title, subjects, year of publication, and abstract. Cambridge University Press.

Identify, select, and create lists of musical theater repertoire. Searchable by voice type, character age, range, genre, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, etc. Over 11 000 songs from nearly 2 000 shows.

Comprised of the Berg Fashion Library which provides access to a searchable portal of integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history and the Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases which provides real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion.

Includes almost every issue Variety has ever published, including articles, ads, front pages and back covers. Contents include the history of the entertainment business, information on film and television companies and their key players, and box office returns.