Guides: Social Work: AI and Social Work

Research-related AI Tools

Covidence
Uses AI in the screening process.
About Covidence: Provides a platform for conducting evidence synthesis (systematic review) projects. Import citations, use machine learning to screen for randomized controlled trials, screen titles and abstracts, upload references, review full text, extract data, conduct risk of bias, and export data. To get full use of this product, you need a Baylor affiliated account. Go to this page to sign up with your Baylor email. Just having an account using your Baylor email does not give you access to Baylor's subscription.

Hubs (Box)
Allows Box enterprise users to create secure spaces for content: files, resources, etc.
from Box:
-Summarize long documents in seconds
-Get cited answers across multiple files
-Translate or simplify complex content
-Brainstorm, outline, or refine your writing in Notes
Microsoft Copilot
An AI-powered assistant that helps with teaching, research, and administrative tasks.
NVivo ( Lumivero AI Assistant in NVivo 15)
Offers AI-powered summarization and code suggestions.
Scopus AI
Summary — Scopus AI locates relevant documents in Scopus published primarily since 2003 and synthesizes the content of their abstracts to create an easy-to-follow Summary.
References — The Summary shows you the number of sources used to compile it (currently up to 10) and provides an option to view a list of the references, as well as their associated abstracts.
Foundational documents — The most influential papers in Scopus on your topic, i.e. the papers that have received the highest number of citations from the papers identified for writing the Summary.
Expanded Summary — Provides a more comprehensive and in-depth response.
Concept map — A downloadable visual that uses keywords to provide a bird’s-eye view of the topic space.
Topic experts — Identify the leading authors based on your query alongside explanations of their relevant expertise.
Go deeper — Offers relevant queries for further exploration, leading to deeper insights in various research fields.
from Scopus AI Quick Reference Guide
--What is Scopus AI?

OneSearch AI Assistant
Content Scope – (from Getting Started with Primo Research Assistant)
All of the Central Discovery Index (CDI) metadata and abstracts (NO full text) are used, with these exceptions:
-News content (Newspaper articles, Newsletters, Text resources).
-Collections that are not marked as “free for search” in the CDI collection list (subscription A & I databases; e.g. Web of Science metadata)
-Sources with insufficient metadata and abstracts to effectively run the tool.
-Documents marked as withdrawn or retracted; retraction notes.
-Any collections from the following content providers: APA, DataCite, Elsevier, JSTOR, Conde Nast
-Any content published by the providers above coming via aggregator collections.

Assessing the Quality of the Primo AI Research Asssitant for Use in Library Instruction and Research Consultations

Goldman, Crystal;Turnbow, Dominique;Roth, Amanda;Chu, Tim;Mayberry, Christina. 2025.

This was presented at the LOEX 2025 conference in Pasadena, CA in May 2025. The presentation discussed a study conducted by a librarian research team at an R1 university that began testing the new Ex Libris Primo AI Research Assistant in 2024. The research team created a framework to assess the quality of results produced by this tool by inputting one year of research assistance queries from undergraduate writing program students and further comparing the output of a basic search to a prompt-engineered approach. Study findings will be presented along with a discussion of how librarians adapted their practice to integrate this AI tool into instruction and consultations.

Tutorial

AI Literacy Self-Paced Canvas Course
-short videos with quiz questions for self-review (estimated completion time 30-40 minutes)
-covers: What is generative AI? The technology behind ChatGPT How does ChatGPT aim to prevent harmful use? Using ChatGPT effectively

Elicit
AI research assistant useful for literature reviews and systematic reviews; free or subscription plans
Research Rabbit
a free online "citation-based literature mapping tool"
Litmaps
a free online AI research assistant that helps find, organize, and visualize relevant academic papers

ai.socialworky.com
"A platform offering AI-powered tools and resources specifically designed to support social work practice and education."
Andy Stapleton
"I'm Here To Help You Navigate Academia & AI Like a Pro"
How social workers use AI to help unhoused teens | Anamika Barman-Adhikari | TEDxMileHigh
The AI Social Work Mentor YouTube Channel Videos

Ethics and AI

Artificial Intelligence in Social Work: Emerging Ethical Issues
Reamer, F. (2023). Artificial Intelligence in Social Work: Emerging Ethical Issues. International Journal of Social Work Values and Ethics, 20(2), 52-71. https://doi.org/10.55521/10-020-205
This text may be freely shared among individuals, but it may not be republished in any medium without express written consent from the authors and advance notification of IFSW.
Ethics and Values
Encyclopedia of Social Work article
AI Ethical Guidelines
by Maya Georgieva, Jason Webb, John Stuart, John Bell, Steven Crawford and Beth Ritter-Guth Tuesday, June 24, 2025

Teaching and AI

Social Work Educators Innovating With Generative AI: An Exploratory Study
Báez, J. C., Bjugstad, A., Park, T. K., Jones, J. L., Bidwell, L. N., Sage, M., & Hitchcock, L. I. (2025). Social Work Educators Innovating With Generative AI: An Exploratory Study. Journal of Social Work Education, 61(1), 14–29. https://doi.org/10.1080/10437797.2024.2411170

Professional Practice and AI

AI and Social Work
NASW webpage
Comparative Efficacy of AI LLMs in Clinical Social Work: ChatGPT-4, Gemini, Copilot
Taşkıran Tepe, H., & Aslantürk, H. (2025). Comparative Efficacy of AI LLMs in Clinical Social Work: ChatGPT-4, Gemini, Copilot. Research on Social Work Practice, 0(0). https://doi.org/10.1177/10497315241313071

Data Analysis and AI

Data Science and Social Work
Encyclopedia of Social Work article
The Role of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and machine learning in social work practice
World Journal of Advanced Research and Reviews, 2024, 24(01), 080–097
Predictive Analytics and Big Data
Encyclopedia of Social Work article

Other

Generative AI use in Higher Education
EDUCAUSE Topic Page

Social Work