Guides: Accessible Alternatives to Federal Information or Websites: Alternative Links

Search Tools

Website

Alternate Sources

A discovery tool that allows searching across multiple U.S. Federal government databases, including the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) and GovInfo.gov.

OneSearch, WorldCat, Google Books, HathiTrust Digital Library

GovInfo.gov or GovInfo

Provides authenticated, free online access to official federal government publications.

OneSearch, WorldCat, Google Books, HathiTrust Digital Library

"Here’s a look at federal agencies’ shutdown contingency plans"
from Ben Amata's posting: The Federal News Network listed major agencies and a brief description of their shutdown plans.
Information on Agency Contingency Plans
from Kelly Smith's U.S. Government Information: Shutdown Guide
"I would caution that plans, especially those not on a live agency website and from the current administration, may not reflect the actual/current operating plans for the agency. This is an evolving situation and additional new plans may be published."

Helpful Table of Alternate Links

Resource or Website	Alternate Links or Alternate Sources
Budget of the United States Government	DiscoverGov or the HathiTrust Digital Library
Census Bureau	PolicyMap, Social Explorer, or Sage Data Bear ID required. If you do not have a Bear ID, come to the Moody Information Desk (Moody Library, First Floor) and ask to sign up for Internet access for visitors. Once your registration is activated, you will be able to use one of the designated computers.
Climatological Data	Older reports are available for some geographical areas. Contact Sinai Wood for assistance.
Congress.gov	Click here for the next page of this guide.
Data.gov	PolicyMap, Social Explorer, or Sage Data Bear ID required. If you do not have a Bear ID, come to the Moody Information Desk (Moody Library, First Floor) and ask to sign up for Internet access for visitors. Once your registration is activated, you will be able to use one of the designated computers.
data.census.gov	PolicyMap, Social Explorer, or Sage Data Bear ID required. If you do not have a Bear ID, come to the Moody Information Desk (Moody Library, First Floor) and ask to sign up for Internet access for visitors. Once your registration is activated, you will be able to use one of the designated computers.
ERIC	ERIC Bear ID required. If you do not have a Bear ID, come to the Moody Information Desk (Moody Library, First Floor) and ask to sign up for Internet access for visitors. Once your registration is activated, you will be able to use one of the designated computers.
Economic Indicators	HathiTrust Digital Library
FCC	Internet Archive: Wayback Machine
ITA	Internet Archive:Wayback Machine
Library of Congress	Internet Archive:Wayback Machine
NASA	GPO Preservation Stewards for NASA publications, Internet Archive:Wayback Machine
NOAA	Internet Archive:Wayback Machine
NPS	Internet Archive:Wayback Machine
NSF	Internet Archive:Wayback Machine
U.S. Statutes at Large	HeinOnline Bear ID required. If you do not have a Bear ID, come to the Moody Information Desk (Moody Library, First Floor) and ask to sign up for Internet access for visitors. Once your registration is activated, you will be able to use one of the designated computers.
USDA	Internet Archive: Wayback Machine
USGS	Internet Archive: Wayback Machine Contact Sinai Wood for assistance with locating reports in the print collection.
USPTO	Google Patent Search If USPTO is not available, then search results from Google Patent Search will be from the European Patent Office (EPO), and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
The WorldFactbook	HathiTrust Digital Library

Accessible Alternatives to Federal Information or Websites

About this guide

Search Tools

Helpful Table of Alternate Links

University Libraries