Faculty Guide to the Baylor Libraries

Whether you are new to Baylor or have been a faculty member for some time, welcome! This guide is meant to be a quick landing page to help you navigate library resources at Baylor. We are your campus research partners and are excited to work with you! 

To promote ease of use, this guide is primarily divided into teaching resources and research resources available through the Baylor libraries. You will also find information about your personal departmental librarian on the "Find Your Librarian" tab, as well as information about AI support through the libraries. 

Moody Memorial Library

Baylor’s main library complex is comprised of the Moody Memorial Library, the Jesse H. Jones Library and the W.R. Poage Legislative Library. The libraries house more than 3.5 million bound volumes and over 1.3 million electronic resources, including the Special Collections Art & Research Center. Many areas of Moody Library are open 24 hours a day. The garden level of Moody Library houses the Black Gospel Archive, the Makerspace, and the Experiential Learning Commons. 

Jesse H. Jones Library

Jesse H. Jones Library along with the connected Moody Memorial Library are the main research complexes of the university’s Waco campus. Your research librarian and the Data & Digital Scholarship librarians are located in Jones Library, as is the Book Arts & Letterpress Lab. 

W.R. Poage Library

The W. R. Poage Legislative Library is a congressional research center comprised of the Baylor Collections of Political Materials, the Bob Bullock Archive, and the Graduate Research Center. Located adjacent to the Moody and Jones Libraries, Poage offers unique research collections, quiet study spaces, and a host of resources to support graduate education at Baylor.

Armstrong Browning Library

This research center is dedicated to the study of the lives and works of Victorian poets Robert and Elizabeth Barrett Browning and houses thousands of manuscripts and works of art. More than 25,000 visitors a year are attracted to the building’s handcrafted architecture, unique furnishings and 62 stained glass windows. 

Carroll Library 

Carroll Library, situated on the Quadrangle and one of the oldest buildings on campus, is home to the Texas Collection, which fills the building as the largest Texana collection at any private university. It includes hundreds of thousands of books, periodicals, photographs and other documents and files, related to Texas and Texans. The third floor of Carrol Library houses the Institute for Oral History, a treasure trove of oral history recordings and transcriptions, in addition to the Keston Center for Religion, Politics, and Society.