Databases
Environmental Science Databases
- Environment complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes domestic and international titles going back to 1888, covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution and waste management, public policy, renewable energy resources, social impacts, and urban planning. Provides full text for more than 190 monographs and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education. Searchable using author, keyword, title, geographic terms, people, NAICS, company, etc. EBSCOhost. - Environmental Science Index This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts for a cross-section of current findings in ecological research with coverage ranging from habitats to food chains, from erosion to land reclamation. - Gale OneFile Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Provides information on journal articles and reports covering environmental studies and policy intended primarily for academic researchers, beginning from 1980. Addresses global warming, climate change, alternative energy, environmental policy, going green, recycling, soil, plants, and agronomy. Search by keyword, author, publisher, etc. Limit by document type, year, etc. Browse by subject or publication. This collection is part of the larger Academic OneFile database. Gale Cengage. - BIOSIS citation index This link opens in a new windowProvides bibliographic references covering life sciences and biomedical research from 1926. Includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, molecular and cellular biology, pharmacology, and zoology. Includes Basic Search (by topic, title, author, Taxonomic Data, etc.) Cited Reference Search, and Advanced Search. Formerly known as Biological Abstracts. Limitable by facets. Web of Science Subject(s): Biology, Biochemistry, Environmental Science, Forensic Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Nursing Nutrition, Physical Therapy
- BioOne abstracts & indexes This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to, literature on bioscience research covering arachnology, beetles, crustaceans, ecology, economic botany, entomology, environmental science, evolutionary biology, ferns, fish, genetics, lichens, mammals, microbiology, mosses and liverworts, natural history, ornithology, paleontology, parasitology, photobiology, reproduction, reptiles, veterinary science, and zoology. Coverage from 1998 and updated monthly. Searchable by keyword, author, title, year, environmental regime, etc. Limitable by author, descriptors, journal name, or publication type. CSA Illumina. - GeoRef (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, maps, conference papers reports, and theses covering mineralogy and crystallography, geochemistry, geochronology, extraterrestrial geology, igneous and metamorphic petrology, sedimentary petrology, marine geology and oceanography, general paleontology, paleobotany, invertebrate paleontology, vertebrate paleontology, stratigraphy, historical geology and paleoecology, areal geology, miscellaneous and mathematical geology, structural geology, general geophysics, solid-earth geophysics, seismology, applied geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, environmental geology, geomorphology, quaternary geology, soils, general economic geology, economic geology of metal ore deposits, economic geology of nonmetal deposits, economic geology of energy sources, and engineering geology. Covers geology of North America from 1669 to the present and geology of the world from 1933 to the present. Search using keyword, author, title, coordinates, latitude, longitude, etc. Engineering Village - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles on all aspects of human impact to the environment including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Searchable by keyword, author, title, etc. Uses EBSCO interface.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of, peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, patents, and quality web sources as far back as 1823. Includes 4 collections: life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Search documents, authors, or affiliation. Advanced search uses Boolean operators and codes. Limitable by facets. Provides related articles and citation information. Customizable personal accounts. Part of the SciVerse system. - Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information of journal articles through the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1900 to present. Search by topic, author, publication, editor, language, etc. Provides citation information. Limitable by facets. Customizable personal accounts. - OneSearch This link opens in a new windowOneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- JoVE This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed scientific videos journal articles. Articles consist of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols which facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and standard protocols in the physical and life sciences.
List of all Environmental Science Databases
Journals
Selected Environmental Science Journals
Selected Environmental Journal Collections
- BioOne This link opens in a new window Contains full-text journal articles from over 100 not-for-profit and institutional publishers focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Browsable by journal title or publisher. Searchable by author, title, abstract, full text, DOI, and captions. Searches are savable. Full text access for BioOne.1 and Open Access collections. Abstracts only for BioOne.2 collection.
Environmental Science Journals subscribed by Baylor University Libraries
Books
- ELS : citable reviews in the life sciences This link opens in a new window Contains over 4 700 peer-reviewed articles covering the entire spectrum of life science including biochemistry, bioethics and philosophy, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evolution and diversity of life, genetics and disease, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, plant science, science and society, structural biology, and virology. Browsable by title and topic from the menus on the left. Searchable by topic, keyword, title, author, and article using the "Search This Book" option on the right. Updated monthly. Wiley Online Library.
- Ecology - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on ecology, the underpinnings of environmental science. Areas covered include autoecology, population, community, ecosystem ecology, and main biomes of the world as well as the intersection of ecology with other disciplines such as chemistry, physics, life sciences, geography, mathematics, computing, and statistics. Introductory essay provides a review of current research trends and issues. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
- Encyclopedia of ecology This link opens in a new window Contains over 500 contributions from international experts to form a comprehensive picture of the science of ecology and its major subdisciplines. It provides current and comprehensive information on many themes, including behavioral ecology, chemical ecology, ecological engineering, ecological indicators, ecological informatics, ecological modeling, ecological processes, ecological stoichiometry, ecosystems, ecotoxicology, evolutionary ecology, general ecology, global ecology, human ecology, philosophy of ecology, population dynamics, and systems ecology. Includes links to cross-references and suggested further readings of key references. Originally published as 5 volumes in 2008. ScienceDirect.
- The encyclopedia of ecology and environmental managementThe Encyclopedia of Ecology & Environmental Management provides a complete one-volume guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by
Wiley is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the prestigious Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) from the Nature Publishing Group. "The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" --American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent..." --Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." --American Reference Books Annual
ISBN: 9780470015902Publication Date: 2005-09-09
- Salem science This link opens in a new window Provides access to Salem Press' science reference works, including: Applied Science, Earth Science: Earth's Surface and History, Earth Science: Physics and Chemistry of the Earth, Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues, Encyclopedia of Globar Resources, Encyclopedia of Global Warming, Forensic Science, and The Solar System
Other Resources and Related Information
Environmental Science Class Guides
