Historical Sources
- British history online This link opens in a new window
Makes accessible the core primary and secondary sources of medieval and modern Britain.
- British periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, with high-resolution facsimile page images.
- English Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
Provides modernized English language texts for major primary sources in English history from 500 to 1914, including American Colonial era documents.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of book and pamphlet titles digitized from libraries around the world. Baylor University is a partner member of Hathi Trust, allowing you to download books, create collections, and analyze the textual data. - Nineteenth century collections online This link opens in a new windowCovers three subject areas: History (8 sections), Literature (2 sections), and Mathematics & Science (2 sections). Provides full-text, fully searchable content from a broad range of primary sources. Includes works in Western and non-Western languages, and are sourced from rare collections at libraries and other institutions from around the globe. Gale Cengage.
- Gale OneFile World History This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and access to scholarly and popular journals covering all aspects and regions of world history from about 1450 to the present.
Cultural Resources
- Art and architecture in video This link opens in a new window
Collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory, and practice of art, design, and architecture. Includes biographies, profiles of contemporary artists and architects, surveys of art history, aesthetics, theory, criticism, and more, spanning from Greek and Roman forms to modern. Options to create, edit, and share playlists or clips. Alexander Street Press.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
- Bloomsbury fashion central This link opens in a new window
Comprised of the Berg Fashion Library which provides access to a searchable portal of integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history and the Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases which provides real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion.
- British literary manuscripts online This link opens in a new window
Provides a digital archive featuring literary manuscripts dating from roughly 1120 to 1900.
- Empire online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source documents from libraries and archives around the world on the building of modern empires from the 15th to the 20th century.
- Naxos music library. This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming access to thousands of recordings from classical, jazz, and world music labels. Also includes supplemental text resources and ability to create playlists.
- Orlando : women's writing in the British Isles from the beginnings to the present This link opens in a new windowOrlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present includes biographical and writing career entries on British women writers, selected non-British or international women writers, and selected British and international men. Also includes dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts). Entries include information on the author’s writing, including Author Summary, Intertextuality and Influence, Reception, Responses (literary), Textual Features, Literary Setting, Theme or Topic (treated in text), Textual Production. Sections on the author include: Life, Cultural Formation, Family and Intimate Relationships, Occupation. Cambridge.
- Romanticism : life literature & landscape This link opens in a new window
This digital collection, which includes the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Also contains a collection of fine art pieces by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. All of the documents are digitized in colour and include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps.
- Victorian popular culture This link opens in a new window
Discover original posters, books, pamphlets, audio clips, and early film covering various aspects of popular entertainment from Britain and America during the Victorian era. Introductory essays for each of the four collections covering spiritualism to music halls to moving pictures covering 1779 to the early 1930's. Includes a chronology, biographies, glossary, and information on the various special collections which contributed to the resource.
- World Digital LibraryProvides digital access to primary resources from cultures and countries around the world across all time. Includes books, journals, manuscripts, maps, motion pictures, prints and art, and sound recordings. A joint project of the Library of Congress and U.N.E.S.C.O., the site is arranged visually using a map of the world to indicate the number of culturally significant items available for each 9 geographical groupings. Each item is given a summary description which describes the item and it's cultural importance. The site may also be searched by keyword or browsed by place, time, topic, type of item, or institution. Language options for English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Arabic, Russian, and Chinese
