ENG 2301: British Literature

Provides coverage of all the literatures present in the British Isles regardless of language from 449 – 1541. Old and Middle English, Anglo-Norman, Latin, French, and Celtic literature are included. 

Access prompt books for Shakespeares plays from the collection of prompt books in the Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington, DC. Prompt books are the script of the play marked up to show notes on a specific production, including any changes made to the play (cutting scenes, rearranging dialogue, etc.), and may include instructions on technical production elements such as lighting, music, and stage directions. The collection covers 42 plays from a production of Twelfth Night in the 1600s to a 1975 production of The Tempest, and includes British, American, and international productions. Search features include a browse by play, simple, and advanced search. Interactive features include viewing two prompt books of the same play side-by-side, an introduction to prompt books and common annotations seen in them, and a chronology. A section on case studies delves more deeply into seventeen productions of various plays. There is a glossary and biographies of well-known Shakesearian actors and directors. Adam Matthew.

Comprehensive record of the performance history of the Royal Shakespeare Company and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre.

Access primary sources describing the culminating educational event for young men (and sometimes women) during the 18th century - the "Grand Tour" of Europe's cultural heritage. Manuscript, printed, and visual works from travel diaries, correspondence, sketchbooks, and printed volumes provide the reactions and activities of British tourists to key European cities. Also covers travel writing from 1550 to 1850. Keyword and advanced search options with limits for date, format of material, and source library. Introductory essays on the nature of the Grand Tour, the educational expectations, the primary cities, and a dictionary of travelers add depth to this resource. Maps, art images, and photographs. Adam Matthew. Primary Sources.

This digital collection, which includes the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. Also contains a collection of fine art pieces by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. All of the documents are digitized in colour and include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps.

Explore the life and experiences of the lower classes of 19th century London - working class, street life, efforts at poor reform, and other records of the less-than-genteel Victorian London. Provides access to a full-text searchable collection containing color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. Emphasizes rare or unique material, particularly in the range of ephemera and street literature, as well as an emphasis on visual material. Keyword, advanced, and popular search options, with limits on dates, collection title, and document type. Adam Matthew Digital.

Provides access to primary source documents from libraries and archives around the world on the building of modern empires from the 15th to the 20th century.

Discover original posters, books, pamphlets, audio clips, and early film covering various aspects of popular entertainment from Britain and America during the Victorian era. Introductory essays for each of the four collections covering spiritualism to music halls to moving pictures covering 1779 to the early 1930's. Includes a chronology, biographies, glossary, and information on the various special collections which contributed to the resource.

Provides digital access to materials from the archive of the John Murray publishing company. Sourced from the National Library of Scotland. The archive includes correspondence, advertisements, diaries, and official records from 1768-1900. Key figures include Lord Byron, Charles Darwin, David Livingstone, Sir Walter Scott, Jane Austen, and others. Search by keyword, title or author with filters for date, them, document type, and key figures. Adam Matthew Digital

Provides access to full-text of British and Commonwealth magazines from the 19th century. 

Provides an in-depth look at the evolution of British and American working-class tourism from c.1850 to 1980. With every continent represented, the resource gives a broad overview of the destinations unlocked for the average traveler throughout this period, along with specific case studies on pivotal geographical areas, organizations, subjects and travel agencies important for the history of tourism. Keyword and advanced search options with limits on date and image galleries. Filter by document type, theme, regions, and owning library/archive. Adam Matthew Digital.

Documents the interactions between government policy and public philanthropy in Victorian and early twentieth-century society, tracing developments in welfare reform and the social tensions surrounding poverty.

Includes primary sources for the study of gender history, womens suffrage, the feminist movement and the mens movement from the 19th century to the present. Other key areas represented in the material include: employment and labor, education, government and legislation, the body, domesticity and the family. Explore records from mens and womens organizations and pressure groups, detailing twentieth-century lobbying and activism on a wide array of issues to reveal developing gender relations and prevalent challenges. Keyword and advanced search options, with filters for date, document type, theme, and library/archive. Limits for image gallery. Adam Matthew Digital

Provides access to hundreds of accounts by women of their worldwide travels from the early 19th century to the late 20th century with writings covering topics that include: architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war. It includes a wide variety of travel writing forms ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs, as well as slideshows with visual materials such as: postcards, sketches, and photographs. Keyword, advanced and popular search options with limits for date and slideshow images. Allows for proximity searching. Adam Matthew Digital.

Provides access to classical literature audiobooks and educational material, including novels, plays, and poetry from all periods. 

Comprised of the Berg Fashion Library which provides access to a searchable portal of integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history and the Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases which provides real-world cases on challenges facing the business of fashion.

Provides access to more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory, and practice of art, design, and architecture. Includes biographies, profiles of contemporary artists and architects, surveys of art history, aesthetics, theory, criticism, and more, spanning from Greek and Roman forms to modern. Options to create, edit, and share playlists or clips. Alexander Street Press.

Provides high-definition recordings of top British theatre, music, and dance productions. A collection of interviews offers insights on acting, directing, design, and tech theatre.

Provides access to the repository of Alexander Street Press video titles.