Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 2301: British Literature: How to Search for Literature

Best resources for background information and research papers on the authors and works covered in this class.

Effective Searching

Finding Books By and About Your Author, or About a Literary Work

You can search OneSearch and the various databases I'm pointing you to most effectively consider what it is you need to locate:

I Need OneSearch's Advanced Search Choose: Search Strategy
All the works my author wrote Author/Creator contains search, last name first (ex.: Joyce, James)
Scholarly criticism about my author

Subject contains 

search,  last name first (ex.: Joyce, James)

Biography of my author

Subject contains 

AND

Genre contains

last name, first name (ex.: Joyce, James)


 

Biography

Scholarly criticism about a novel, play or long/famous poem by my author

Subject contains

And

Subject contains

 title of work (ex.: To the Lighthouse criticism)

 

 

 criticism

Short Story or shorter/less famous poem by my author  

For more recent or less know poems & short stories conduct the same search as for a novel, play, or famous poem. If your search turns up nothing please make an appointment with me and I'll be glad to walk you through finding scholarly criticism on the subject. 

Scholarly criticism on a character or group

Subject contains

And 

Subject contains

And 

Subject contains

character name or group (ex.: women) 

 

 

author (ex.: Pope, Alexander

 

 

criticism 

How a theme or literary device is used in an author/work

Any field contains

And 

Subject contains

name of theme or literary device (Ex.: symbolism)

 

 

author (ex.: Yeats, William Butler)

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702