Boundary Breaking Essay - FAS 1302.03 - Writing Women's Lives

Online Biographical Sources to Use

Selected Online Resources for Biographical Information

American national biography online This link opens in a new window
Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture.
Current biography illustrated This link opens in a new window
Provides short biographies of persons currently in the news and about whom no full-length biography exists as of the date of publication in Current Biography.
Entries date back to 1940 but this is often the only reliable source for biography for current, living individuals.
Oxford dictionary of national biography This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.

Print Resources in Jones Reference Library

I will bring some of these print encyclopedias to our class, but all of them are in the Jones Reference area. Ask for help at the Jones Information Desk if you need to find them after our class session. This bibliography is in Chicago Style.

Bakken, Gordon Morris, and Brenda Farrington, editors. Encyclopedia of Women in the American West. Sage, 2003. HQ1438.W45 E53 2003

Boynton, Victoria, and Jo Malin, editors. Encyclopedia of Women’s Autobiography. Greenwood Press, 2005. HQ1185 .E63 2005

Commire, Anne, and Deborah Klezmer, editors. Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia. Yorkin Publications, 1999. HQ1115 .W6 1999

Edelson, Paula. A to Z of American Women in Sports. Facts on File, 2002. GV697.A1 E28 2002

Ford, Lynne E., editor. Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics. Facts On File, 2008. HQ1236.5.U6 E52 2008

Frank, Lisa Tendrich, editor. Women in the American Civil War. ABC-CLIO, 2008. E628 .W655 2008

Frost-Knappman, Elizabeth, and Sarah Kurian. The ABC-CLIO Companion to Women’s Progress in America. ABC-Clio, 1994. HQ1410 .F76 1994

Heaphy, Leslie A., and Mel Anthony May, editors. Encyclopedia of Women and Baseball. McFarland & Co, 2006. GV880.7 .E63 2006

Heywood, Leslie, editor. The Women’s Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism. Greenwood Press, 2006. HQ1115 .W644 2006

Hine, Darlene Clark, editor. Black Women in America. 2nd ed, Oxford University Press, 2005. E185.86 .B5418 2005

Kramarae, Cheris, and Dale Spender, editors. Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women’s Issues and Knowledge. Routledge, 2000. HQ1115 .R69 2000

Krismann, Carol. Encyclopedia of American Women in Business: From Colonial Times to the Present. Greenwood Press, 2005. HD6054.4.U6 K753 2005

Lindley, Susan Hill, and Eleanor J. Stebner, editors. The Westminster Handbook to Women in American Religious History. 1st ed, Westminster John Knox Press, 2008. BL2525 .W44 2008

Martínez Alemán, Ana M., and Kristen A. Renn, editors. Women in Higher Education: An Encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO, 2002. LC1569 .W66 2002

Mays, Dorothy A. Women in Early America: Struggle, Survival, and Freedom in a New World. ABC-CLIO, 2004. HQ1416 .M395 2004

Netzley, Patricia D. The Encyclopedia of Women’s Travel and Exploration. Oryx Press, 2001. G465 .N47 2001

Oakes, Elizabeth H. International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists. Facts on File, 2002. Q141 .O27 2002

Rappaport, Helen. Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers. ABC-CLIO, 2001. HQ1236 .R29 2001

Salisbury, Joyce E. Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World. ABC-CLIO, 2001. HQ1127 .S25 2001

Sherrow, Victoria. Women and the Military: An Encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO, 1996. U21.75 .S54 1996

Sies, Leora M., and Luther F. Sies. The Encyclopedia of Women in Radio, 1920-1960. McFarland & Co, 2003. PN1991.8.W65 E53 2003

Smith, Bonnie G., editor. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History. Oxford University Press, 2008. HQ1121 .O93 2008

Snodgrass, Mary Ellen. Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature. Facts On File, 2006. PN471 .S58 2006

Trauth, Eileen Moore, editor. Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology. Idea Group Reference, 2006. HD6060.6 .E53 2006

Windsor, Laura Lynn. Women in Medicine: An Encyclopedia. ABC-CLIO, 2002. R692 .W545 2002

FAS 1302.03 - Writing Women's Lives: Boundary Breaking Essay

Online Biographical Sources to Use

Print Resources in Jones Reference Library

University Libraries