Guides: ART 4362: Modern European Art (1860-1960): Databases for Finding Articles

Art-specific tools for discovering articles

The following resources will help you identify and track down journal articles on your topic. Consult the help files and information files for each resource for more details:

Art & Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,00 images, it is designed to for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.

BHA and RILA This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for journal articles, monographs, collections of essays, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition catalogs in the arts. Provides access to two art literature databases: BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'Histoire de l'Art) covering the years 1990-2007 and RILA (Repertoire de la Litterature de l'Art), covering 1975-1989. Includes abstracts and subject terms. Covers visual arts in all media including traditional fine arts (painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture), decorative and applied arts, material culture, photography and contemporary new media, and visual arts aspects of the performing arts. Includes European art from late Antiquity to the present, American art from the European arrival to the present, and Christian and, European art in Africa, Asia, and Australia.
Includes international material selected from periodicals since 1973. The most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses the fine arts as well as decorative and applied arts.
Art index retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides access to mid 20th-century art history literature and contemporary criticism of art through periodicals, yearbooks, and select museum bulletins. Cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 (published between 1929 and 1984).
Avery index to architectural periodicals This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.

International Index to Performing Arts
overs content from over 250 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews, and events. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, opera, etc. Most records contain an abstract.

Multidisciplinary databases for discovering art related articles

While these tools cover more than just art, they still contain many important art related articles:

JSTOR
JSTOR provides the full text to nearly entire runs of journal titles in a wide variety of subject areas, including over 100 art and art history journals.

Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracts for journals in all academic subjects.
Gale OneFile Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research for the disciplines of drama, music, art history, and film making.

Lexis Nexis
use "search the news" section for up to the minute news sources

ART 4362: Modern European Art (1860-1960): Databases for Finding Articles

Art-specific tools for discovering articles

Multidisciplinary databases for discovering art related articles

University Libraries