HIS 4335: Women in Europe since 1200

Brings together the manuscripts and printed editions of the papers and letters of five families from 15th century England in a searchable, digital format. Full color images of the manuscripts may be viewed side-by-side with the text of the printed editions. Collectively these materials provide insight into late medieval family life, business, social and community connections, and politics. Good supporting materials include a glossary, interactive map, family trees, chronologies, visual resources gallery, a scholarly introductory essay on family letter collections, and links out to other relevant scholarly web resources. The printed editions may be searched by keyword; both the manuscript and the transcript can be viewed in a split pane; the glossary is accessible from the viewing pane; and the words in the glossary are hyperlinked to all occurrences of the word in all other manuscripts (great for linguistic analysis). Both manuscript images and printed text images may be downloaded and saved as PDF documents; citations to the manuscripts and printed texts may be easily exported to EndNote or to RefWorks. Primary Source.

Makes accessible the core primary and secondary sources of medieval and modern Britain. Includes Parliamentary papers, State papers (records of payments, decrees, etc., by the Royal household), Church records (both Roman Catholic and Church of England), the full text of the "Victoria County Histories" (a valuable source of information on the history of each county of England up through the Victorian era, noting landmarks, cultural institutions, economic and business development, important people, etc.). Can be browsed by several categories (place, time period, sources, maps, region, subject) and full-text search is also available. All records have been transcribed. Baylor has access to the complete content, not just the publicly- available materials

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare. Reproduces works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue and the Thomason Tracts, online via ProQuest Direct.

Provides modernized English language texts for major primary sources in English history from 500 to 1914, including American Colonial era documents. Browse by subjects (technology, foreign affairs, etc.), chronological timeline, or by original published volume order. Search by keyword or use advanced search for specific document title, personal name, or place name

Provides access to primary source documents from libraries and archives around the world on the building of modern empires from the 15th to the 20th century. Provides simple keyword search which may be limited to a specific century, or browse by topic, name, or place. The collection of primary documents is divided into 5 sections: Cultural Contacts; The Visible Empire; The Literature of Empire; Religion & Empire; and Race, Class, Imperialism & Colonialism. Each section has a corresponding scholarly essay(s) outlining and discussing the major trends, issues, and movements of the time and how the scholarly perspective on these has changed over time. A separate tab lists the biographies of individuals named in the source documents, another tab contains a chronology, and there is a tab for teaching faculty on how to incorporate documents into courseware such as Blackboard

Indexes and provides digital access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century and listed in the Short Title Catalogue, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable by keyword or advanced search (with limiters), or browse by authors or works. Includes "Contextual Essays" on concepts ("Deism " "Sensibility"), movements, and styles ("Rococo " "French Revolution"), and other key aspects of the 18th century (the publication of encyclopedias, for instance). Also groups materials by discipline in the "Key Documents" section.

Contains online digital images of every page in the entire sequence of Queen Victoria's diaries, and provides full transcriptions and keyword searching of all journal entries. This website reproduces as high-resolution color images every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages. Covers 1832 - 1901.

Makes available Parliamentary papers for the 19th century (1801-1900) covering issues in Great Britain and her many colonies. This resource brings together the Nineteenth Century Parliamentary Papers Collection from BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service), the nineteenth century House of Commons Sessional Papers from Chadwyck-Healey microfiche edition, and Peter Cockton's Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900, a five volume thematic index for the complete set of parliamentary papers of this period. Provides digital access to the Papers. Useful "Guide to Parliamentary Papers" (http://parlipapers.chadwyck.com/infoCentre/hcppguide.jsp) for those working with them for the first time. Proquest.

Indexes publications of the Anglo-American World, 1790-1919, and provides links to the full text of many of the resources. Collections expand with each release of the database. The entire index and all resources contained within it are searchable, or the search can be limited to one of the individual resources included in the database. These resources include: Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Nineteenth Century microfiche project, Periodicals: American Periodicals Series, British Periodicals, Niles' Register Index, Periodicals Index Online, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900, Official Publications: House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Proceedings of the Old Bailey, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Archives: Archive Finder, Newspapers: Palmer's Index to The Times, Reference: Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism. ProQuest

Provides access to original British sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. Includes contextual essays by scholars introducing the major themes of the project and provide direct hypertext links to the sources. Key topics covered are represented in five ‘sections’: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility and The Body.

Trace the history of women’s movements and feminism over four centuries of documents and journals and across multiple countries in Europe and North America in this one collection. Full-text of primary source documents, journals, and pamphlets, in 14 langages (primarily English, German, and French), it is possible to trace developments in a single country or across several countries. The Gerritsen Collection includes advice manuals, education and professional training, history, social conditions, social reform, legal status, women’s health, and women’s employment. Among the books are many biographies of women – full-length biographies and biographical sketch collections. Gerritsen also has an extensive section of early women’s periodicals from 1860 through the 1940’s. Quick or Advanced search features are available for the entire collection, with limits for books or periodicals only. Primary Source. ProQuest.

Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, with high-resolution facsimile page images. Content comes from the UMI microfilm collections: Early British Periodicals, English Literary Periodicals, British Periodicals in the Creative Arts, and additional titles. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, the social science, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture. Coverage: 1681-2005.

Provides indexing and full-text access to the Times (London) newspaper from its inception to 1985. Search by keyword with limits available by newspaper section (stock tables, editorials, articles, illustrations/pictures, etc.).

Contains PDF images of the full run of 48 newspapers from Britain, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales, representing all regions, socio-economic levels, and movements of 19th Century Britain. Coverage excludes the Times (London) which is available in the "Times Digital Archive" database

Indexes the table of contents of journals going as far back as 1665 and as recent as 1995. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences and indexes over 15 million articles. Periodicals Index Online covers not only journals published by academic presses but also those journals published as popular reading which now provide valuable research materials for scholars. Use with country name to exclude material from the United States.