THEA 3326 Costume Design: Databases for finding articles, books, and more

Indexes such journals as Textile History, Nineteenth Century Theatre and Film, Dress (Costume Society of America), and Winterthur Portfolio

Included journals such as Studies in French Cinema, Early Popular Visual Culture, Film and History, and Theatralia.

Provides access to a searchable portal of integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Notable resources are reference works, including the Berg Encyclopedia of Dress and Fashion, an extensive e-book collection, classic and modern writings on fashion, and a vast image bank, including items from the Victoria and Albert Museum and the Metropolitan Museum of Art's Costume Institute. Searching by image only reveals a visual search interface with a specially designed taxonomy in order to refine search results by type of dress, people, time period, place, textiles and materials, and themes.

Indexes articles from scholarly journals on the history of the United States and Canada only. Provides abstracts for most articles. Also includes book reviews in scholarly history journals but does not index book publications. Features: simple, advanced, and visual search features, and search alerts. The first place to look for scholarly literature on America and Canada. (N.B.: For the rest of the world, use Historical Abstracts). EBOSCOhost.

Indexes articles from around 400 scholarly and popular periodicals, as well as some books. Includes reviews, biographical profiles, obituaries, interviews, and more. Theatre and film are the largest categories, but all performing arts disciplines are covered. Some full text is available. Most records are from 1998 to the present and include an abstract. Produced by ProQuest and updated monthly.

Provides a link to the web pages of the Academy. Included among the variety of resources on the web site are databases (under Research & Preservation--Resources & Databases) that allow searches of Academy Award winners and nominees, Academy Award acceptance speeches, Motion picture credits, and Motion Picture Scripts in six Los Angeles area collections.

Provides an aggregation of digital resources in a comprehensive research environment for scholars working on the literature, history, fine arts, and philosophy of the long eighteenth century (1660-1800).

Provides insight into the theatrical world of eighteenth century society and explores how the Larpent plays reflect the politics of the time, the role of women, views on race and religion, opinions on empire, and European and British history. Features three distinct areas: Primary source documents, the focus of which is the Larpent collection of plays and Anna Larpent's Diaries; the London Stage Database; and the Biographical Dictionary Database. Adam Matthew

Portal to newspapers and periodicals c1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) and Chetham's Library, Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV), and more.

Humanities Full Text includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals--of which 470 are peer-reviewed--dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

Includes almost every issue Variety has ever published, including articles, ads, front pages and back covers. Contents include the history of the entertainment business, information on film and television companies and their key players, and box office returns.

Indexes articles in scholarly and popular journals and newspapers on issues of popular culture, including book reviews. A subset of the larger Academic OneFile database, this is very useful for finding focused information on a topic of popular culture (contemporary arts, movies, fads, trends, etc.). Search by title, subject, person's name, or keyword, or browse subjects or publications. Gale Cengage.

Provides a great starting place for research, as it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12 500 journals in all academic subjects, including more than 8 500 full-text and 7 300 peer-reviewed journals. Other types of publications included in this resource are books and book chapters, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, reports, etc. Searchable by keyword, title, author, subject, journal name, and a lot more. Results can be limited by date, language, publication type, full-text status or whether a journal is scholarly/peer-reviewed. EBSCOhost.