Oxford Bibliographies
-
Communication - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the study of communication as a multidisciplinary effort to understand the constant, varied, and complex transmission and exchange of information, knowledge, and ideas. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
-
Cinema and media studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on cinema and media studies, including film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Background Resources
-
Encyclopedia of New Media: an essential reference to communication and technology
by
Call Number: Jones Reference Ref. QA76.575 .E5368 2003ISBN: 0761923829Publication Date: 2002-12-10Edited by Steve Jones, one of the leading scholars and founders of this emerging field, and with contributions from an international group of scholars as well as science and technology writers and editors, the Encyclopedia of New Media widens the boundaries of today's information society through interdisciplinary, historical, and international coverage. -
New World Dictionary of Media and Communications
by
Call Number: Jones Ref P87.5 .W45 1996ISBN: 0028606116Publication Date: 1996-05-01A comprehensive, authoritative collection of the technical and slang terms in use today in the fields of media and communications. This revised and updated edition (first, 1990) contains some 35,000 definitions and related terms, from to , many of which are not found in conventional dictionaries. -
A/V A-Z: an encyclopedic dictionary of media, entertainment and other audiovisual terms
by
Call Number: Jones Ref P87.5 .K76 2010ISBN: 0786444053Publication Date: 2010-04-02Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment. It includes terms from the complete lifecycle of an audiovisual work from initial concept through commercial presentation in all the major distribution channels -
Handbook of Multimedia for Digital Entertainment and Arts
by
Call Number: Jones General Collection QA76.76.I59 H36 2009ISBN: 0387890238Publication Date: 2009-08-06This edited volume covers leading edge media technologies, and the latest research applied to digital entertainment and arts. The main focus of the handbook is interactive and online games, edutainment, e-performance, personal broadcasting, innovative technologies for digital arts, digital visual and auditory media, augmented reality, moving media, and other advanced topics. -
Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication, and Media
by
Call Number: e-book, click record for linkISBN: 0203961498Publication Date: 2006
Media Effects Research
-
Media Effects Research
by
Call Number: Jones General Collection HM1206 .S66 2010ISBN: 9781111344450Publication Date: 2012 -
-
Mass Media Effects Research
by
Call Number: Moody General Collection HM1206 .M374 2007ISBN: 080584998XPublication Date: 2007
