Database Page Key
Religiously Focused Statistical Resources
- Association of Religion Data Archives : ARDA This link opens in a new windowIndexes religious themed statistical research results from various academic, private and government sources. Predominantly North American coverage supplemented by growing international content. Online customizing features enable researchers to generate national profiles, maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other summary reports. Files can be downloaded. Includes two Baylor Religion Surveys.
- Baylor Institute for Studies of ReligionWebsite provides access to the Institute's "ISR Reports", full text of the Institute's "Interdisciplinary Journal of Research on Religion", case studies, and occasional "ISR Special Research Reports."
- Faith Communities Today"...a series of ongoing research surveys and practical reports about congregational life, conducted and published by the Cooperative Congregations Studies Partnership, a multi-faith group of religious researchers and faith leaders." -- Information about the Faith Communities Today Project
- National Congregations Study"The National Congregations Study (NCS) is an ongoing national survey effort to gather information about the basic characteristics of America's congregations." -- About the National Congregations Study
Studies conducted to date: 1998, 2006-07, and 2012. - Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life"The Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life, launched in 2001, seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs.
The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world." -- About the Pew Forum - World Christian Database (Online)Provides access to statistical data sources on "international religious composition." Data comes from a variety of sources including (but not limited to) statistical questionnaires returned by churches and national collaborators over the period 1982-2000; field surveys and interviews...in more than 200 countries...over the years 1965-2000...; unpublished documentation for all countries, etc. Information is readily available on religious activities, growth rates, religious literature, worker activity, and demographic statistics. Additional secular data is incorporated on population, health, education, and communications. Searchable by keyword. Useful to a wide variety of researchers of the development of World Christianity from the mid-twentieth century to today.
Statistical Databases with Religious Content
- Gallup.comThe Gallup Poll has built its reputation on delivering relevant, timely, and visionary research on what people around the world think and feel.
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesContains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and int. relations.
- Proquest statistical InsightResource for building statistical tables from licensed and public domain datasets.
- United Nations Statistics Division This link opens in a new windowProvides a central website for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment, and demographic and social statistics gathered from national and international sources. Some well known statistical databases and publications are available from this site: Statistical Yearbook, InfoNation, UNComtrade (basic access).
