Political Science

Provides access to nearly 100 000 new government documents each week from over 8 300 sources and 14 600 different websites. Contains a repository of over 30 million documents authored or adopted by the U.S. Federal Government and published through official government channels.

Covers more than 18 000 individuals who fit all the following criteria: American (lived within what is now the United States), deceased (with enough time having passed since the individual's death to allow for critical evaluation), influenced American history or culture broadly (not just a locally influential individual), sufficient research materials exist on this individual to create a solid biographical essay. Essays are written by scholars and include a bibliography (including an indication of where a person's archives are located), links to reliable online resources, and links to cross-referenced individuals. Additionally, there are links to thematically related essays from the "Oxford Companion to United States History" to help place the individual in the larger trends and issues of his time. Drawing again on the "Oxford Companion to United States History " there are links to articles in 12 broad research topics to help focus a paper or research on an individual or an era. ANB may be searched by name, by keyword (any occurrence of it), or click on the "Search" tab to conduct an advanced search by gender, profession, birthplace, and other features. Oxford UP.

Presents biographies of living and deceased persons from all walks of life. Articles range in length from a few paragraphs to three web pages. Written by various sources/authors from the A&E Television Network staff to noted dance critics, the information is factual but may be dated. No bibliographies are included, although if the subject of the biography has written books or had a book written about him, the title of the book will be mentioned. Primarily useful for confirming birth/death dates, major activities of the subject, and identifying who might have been contemporaries. A&E Television Networks.

Provides short biographies of persons currently in the news and about whom no full-length biography exists as of the date of publication in Current Biography. Includes references to current (or then-current) news sources on the individual. Entries date back to 1940 but this is often the only reliable source for biography for current, living individuals. Broad coverage of people in media, politics, and all professions and arts are included.

Indexes and provides full-text access to a variety of news and reference sources containing the biographies of individuals from all time periods. Front page provides basic search box, a listing of selected biographies arranged by occupation, and links to current biographical news (obituaries, etc.). Searching by occupation, individual name, place of birth/death, nationality, and other advanced search features is available. Individual entries include a general overview of a person's life and links to reference and news sources (divided into "scholarly" and "magazines"), as well as audio or image resources (audio from NPR). Advanced search includes a "lexile index" search which allows teachers to choose materials at an appropriate reading level for their students. Also useful is the "Listen" button which will read the entry aloud (including word or sentence highlighting if desired). Gale Cengage.

Includes the complete content of the following printed reference sets: The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, The Seventies in America, Great Events from History Series, Great Lives from History: The Ancient World, Prehistory-476 c.e. Great Lives from History: The Middle Ages, and Great Lives from History: The Nineteenth Century. Search by keyword or name for events, places, people, or groups/movements. Limits by one of five topical areas (historical or geographic areas). Results are subdivided by "Biography " "History/Event " "Primary Source " and "Resources."

Allows researchers to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. Indexes newspapers, journals, biographies, public opinion polls (including Gallup Poll Briefings), book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. At the beginning of a search, one of a dozen chosen current events or a number of frequent political hot topics can be chosen. Results can be limited by subject, the type of information source, or publication name.

Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally. Can limit by year, type of material, and other factors. OCLC FirstSearch.

Serves as a digital repository for major research institutions and libraries to archive their immense digital collections and to ensure that the cultural record that these digital collections represent is preserved and accessible today and in the future. HathiTrust was founded in 2008 and includes content from the Google Books project and Internet Archive.