It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject. Offers topic pages that provide background information on a topic and mind maps that show relationships between topics. Search results may include images, video clips, and maps. Also displays links to related and specialized library databases allowing users to select other library databases for further topic exploration.
2008. This encyclopedia features about 650 cross-referenced entries--including about 80 new to this volume--detailing the significance and development of forensic science and its relation to other fields. The encyclopedia includes 15 essays, interspersed throughout the book, on topics such as myths of forensic science, DNA typing and privacy, drug testing in sports, forensic science and terrorist attacks, and the future of lie detection.
2005: In this multivolume encyclopedia, contributors explore the relationship between law, medicine, and science in the study of forensics. An international team of forensic specialists was responsible for covering over one hundred different subjects in this comprehensive reference series. Choice review. Jones Ref. RA1017 .E53 2005
Use this resource for searching the library catalog, the Baylor Digital Collections, BEARdocs (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.), research guides, and much of the full-text subscription content.
Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally. Can limit by year, type of material, and other factors. OCLC FirstSearch.
Serves as a digital repository for major research institutions and libraries to archive their immense digital collections and to ensure that the cultural record that these digital collections represent is preserved and accessible today and in the future. HathiTrust was founded in 2008 and includes content from the Google Books project and Internet Archive.
The American Academy of Forensic Sciences is a multi-disciplinary professional organization that provides leadership to advance science and its application to the legal system. The objectives of the Academy are to promote professionalism, integrity, competency, education, foster research, improve practice, and encourage collaboration in the forensic sciences.
An organization of psychiatrists dedicated to excellence in practice, teaching, and research in forensic psychiatry. The American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law promotes scientific and educational activities in forensic psychiatry by facilitating the exchange of ideas and practical clinical experience through publications and regularly scheduled national and regional meetings
Provides a program of certification in forensic document examination with the dual purpose of serving the public interest and promoting the advancement of forensic science. In purpose, function, and organization, therefore, the ABFDE is analogous to the certifying boards in other scientific fields. The ABFDE is recognized by, and was originally sponsored by the American Academy of Forensic Sciences.
Mission The objective of the Board is to establish, enhance, and revise as necessary, standards of qualifications for those who practice forensic odontology, and to certify as qualified specialists those voluntary applicants who comply with the requirements of the Board. In this way, the Board aims to make available a practical and equitable system for readily identifying those persons professing to be specialists in forensic odontology who possess the requisite qualifications and competence
Nonprofit professional society of crime laboratory directors & forensic science managers providing excellence in forensic science through leadership & innovation. Its purpose is to foster professional interests, assist the development of laboratory management principles & techniques; acquire, preserve & disseminate forensic based information; maintain & improve communications among crime laboratory directors; & to promote, encourage and maintain highest standards of practice.
Membership in the Association is limited to those persons of integrity with suitable education, training, and experience in the examination of firearms and/or toolmarks. The organization is formed exclusively for charitable, scientific, educational, and testing for public safety purposes; and to improve and elevate the quality, integrity, and public image of the scientific crime laboratories
An international professional body with members in over 60 countries. The main aim of the society is to encourage communication and collaboration by providing an arena in which forensic practitioners, researchers, academics and those working in related fields can congregate, communicate and invoke development of areas such as best practice, research, publication, quality and ethics in forensic casework.
The world's oldest and largest forensic science/identification association. Today's IAI has grown into the most prestigious professional association of its kind in the world, with more than 7,000 members from the United States and many other countries. The advancement of forensic disciplines through education continues to be one of the top priorities of the Association.
TIAFT has over 1400 members from all regions of the world who are actively engaged in analytical toxicology or allied areas and the aims of this association are to promote cooperation and coordination of efforts among members and to encourage research in forensic toxicology.
An organization composed of practicing forensic toxicologists and those interested in the discipline for the purpose of promoting and developing forensic toxicology. The Society fosters friendship and cooperation among toxicologists and advocates a high level of professionalism by sponsoring certification programs for its members.
The organization's mission is to establish and maintain nationally accepted programs for the forensic investigation of fire, arson, and explosion scenes and devices. Further, to promote and maintain dialogue among personnel in the public safety and legal communities.