Oxford Bibliographies
The Oxford Bibliographies Online series is a first stop for acquainting yourself with the current state of the discipline in a given field. The series offers discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences. Each subject module includes a full set of entries with introductory essays written by scholars in the field. These entries range from general overviews to highly-specialised themes. Each entry provides a synoptic, bibliographic guide to the key literature and the most useful online resources in a given area of research.
Listed below are bibliographies most useful to historical studies, but there are many others which may be relevant (international studies, Latino studies, etc.).
- African studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on African culture, history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Atlantic history - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the transnational interconnections between Europe, North America, South America, and Africa, particularly in the early modern and colonial period. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Biblical studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Chinese studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Chinese culture history, and society. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Islamic studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Jewish studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Jewish Studies, including biblical studies, general history, culture, the Holocaust and religion with a particular emphasis on modern culture and history. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Latin American studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latin American studies. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Medieval studies - Oxford bibliographies online This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Military history - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on military history. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
- Renaissance and Reformation - Oxford bibliographies. This link opens in a new window
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. Very useful for introductions to the scholarship of a field and key critical works.
Historical Overviews and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are another important reference resource, especially when approaching a time period not in your direct area of research.
Not all encyclopedias have been translated into an online format, so check OneSearch and search for encyclopedias in the subject line followed by the century or the era (Victorian, Edwardian, etc.) as a keyword search to see if there are more examples in print similar to the last entry in this list.
- Cambridge histories This link opens in a new window
Provides online, searchable access to the well-known Cambridge History series.
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment.
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era by Call Number: Jones Ref DA550 .E527 2004ISBN: 0717258602Publication Date: 2003-10-01- Correlates with standards and benchmarks in World History and Social Studies - Valuable for a wide range of courses, including history; literature; art history; social studies; gender studies; science, technology, and society; social movements; economics; political science; and religion and philosophy - Offers an interdisciplinary approach to a major historical era - Discusses and analyzes often-studied topics such as industralization, social thought and reform, colonial expansion, and cultural identity - International in scope: focus is on Britain, but articles cover British influence in the United States, Europe, Ireland, and the British Empire, including special attention to India, Australia, and Africa - Selected primary sources, with commentary, offer documentary evidence of major themes of the era - Provides coverage of all aspects of everyday life, domestic life, and social conditions - Articles are written in a clear, concise, and engaging manner by scholars and experts in their fields
