It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ECO 4334/INB 4334: Economic Development
This guide provides library resources for Economic Development/International Business.
The book provides an assessment of BRICS cooperation, focusing on the new financing mechanisms created by the BRICS, the monetary fund and the development bank. It is shown that Brazil, Russia, India and China, joined later by South Africa, share common traits that led them to cooperate in the reform of the international financial architecture, especially the G20 and the IMF. After 2012, in light of the difficulty of having advanced countries agree to move from "tinkering at the margins" to fundamental reform of the Bretton Woods institutions, the BRICS decided to establish their own monetary fund, named the BRICS Contingent Reserve Arrangement (CRA), and their own development bank, named the New Development Bank (NDB). The book describes the difficult negotiations among the BRICS between 2012 and 2014. Some of these difficulties revealed the weaknesses that would lead the CRA and the NDB to make slow progress in the first years of their existence. The book provides an overview of the strong points and weaknesses of the initial phase of these financing mechanisms. It ends with a discussion of the future of the BRICS, highlighting that joint action by the five countries is likely to remain an important feature of the international landscape in the decades to come.
International Trade, Economic Development, and the Vietnamese Economy by Cuong Le Van (Editor); Van Pham Hoang (Editor); Makoto Tawada (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022-05-04
This volume spotlights some of the most important economic issues confronting today's emerging developing countries. The topics studied in the book include the importance of productivity to economic growth, international trade and its relationship to productivity; immigration and brain drain; pollution havens, climate change, and the carbon tax; the effectiveness of foreign aid, the efficiency of education, and governance. Written by some of the most respected scholars in their respective fields, the individual chapters apply both economic theory and the most current empirical tools in rigorous but accessible exposition. Researchers can find value in the modeling and empirical techniques that can be applied to other countries and datasets. Policy makers can benefit from the intellectual foundation on which decisions on important issues can be based; and students of international trade, economic development, and environmental economics can gain knowledge of different country settings that give context to their fields of study.
The final book from a towering pioneer in the study of poverty and inequality--a critically important examination of poverty around the world In this, his final book, economist Anthony Atkinson, one of the world's great social scientists and a pioneer in the study of poverty and inequality, offers an inspiring analysis of a central question: What is poverty and how much of it is there around the globe? The persistence of poverty--in rich and poor countries alike--is one of the most serious problems facing humanity. Better measurement of poverty is essential for raising awareness, motivating action, designing good policy, gauging progress, and holding political leaders accountable for meeting targets. To help make this possible, Atkinson provides a critically important examination of how poverty is--and should be--measured. Bringing together evidence about the nature and extent of poverty across the world and including case studies of sixty countries, Atkinson addresses both financial poverty and other indicators of deprivation. He starts from first principles about the meaning of poverty, translates these into concrete measures, and analyzes the data to which the measures can be applied. Crucially, he integrates international organizations' measurements of poverty with countries' own national analyses. Atkinson died before he was able to complete the book, but at his request it was edited for publication by two of his colleagues, John Micklewright and Andrea Brandolini. In addition, François Bourguignon and Nicholas Stern provide afterwords that address key issues from the unfinished chapters: how poverty relates to growth, inequality, and climate change. The result is an essential contribution to efforts to alleviate poverty around the world.
This book investigates the barriers to women's economic empowerment in the Global South. Drawing on evidence from a wide range of countries, the book outlines important lessons and practical solutions for promoting gender equality. Despite global progress in closing gender gaps in education and health, women's economic empowerment has lagged behind, with little evidence that economic growth promotes gender equality. International Development Research Centre's (IDRC) Growth and Economic Opportunities for Women (GrOW) programme was set up to provide policy lessons, insights, and concrete solutions that could lead to advances in gender equality, particularly on the role of institutions and macroeconomic growth, barriers to labour market access for women, and the impact of women's care responsibilities. This book showcases rigorous and multi-disciplinary research emerging from this ground-breaking programme, covering topics such as the school-to-work transition, child marriage, unpaid domestic work and childcare, labour market segregation, and the power of social and cultural norms that prevent women from fully participating in better paid sectors of the economy. With a range of rich case studies from Burkina Faso, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, India, Kenya, Nepal, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, and Uganda, this book is perfect for students, researchers, practitioners, and policymakers working on women's economic empowerment and gender equality in the Global South.
Microfinance began with the noble aim of alleviating poverty through the extension of small loans to poor borrowers, and has grown to now serve approximately 200,000,000 people-the majority of whom are female. Yet despite claims to the contrary, the practice has not been proven to have succeeded in either enriching or empowering its borrowers.
This book examines the nexus between the entrepreneur, the firm, and the region for drawing a comprehensive picture of entrepreneurship in a developing country context. It emphasizes the role of the spatial location in simultaneously determining the occupational choice at an individual level and the nature of new firm start-ups emerging in a region. In doing so, the author provides a novel approach to examining entrepreneurship in emerging economies. Using large-scale databases from India, the book offers fresh insights for shaping public policy in developing countries that aim to pursue entrepreneurship led growth.
The SDGs, developed by the UN in 2012, focuses on 17 goals for the betterment of humanity and humanitarian causes. Among the core objectives of Shari'ah in Islamic finance is to offer a helping hand, emphasizing the efforts and scope of the SDGs. This book explores how Islamic ethical wealth is structured to contribute to the SDGs and an overall socio-economic impact within the principles of Maqasid al-Shari'ah. Focusing areas such as Islamic micro-finance, wealth inclusion, corporate and agro-Zakat, Awqaf, SRI Sukuk, and green Sukuk, this book will feature contributions from the leading researchers in sustainability and Islamic finance and will be of interest to scholars, researchers, industrialists, NGOs, UNDP and students studying both areas.
The use of microfinance for poverty reduction and economic development in the developing world is growing. However, this concept needs to be expanded to ensure its successful application for achieving longer-term economic growth and sustainability in developing countries, particularly in parts of the world such as Africa. As such, further research into the relationship between microfinance and sustainable development in developing regions is required to fully understand the opportunities for effective use of microfinance for poverty reduction and economic development. Microfinance and Sustainable Development in Africa examines the complex relationship between receipt of microfinance, poverty reduction, economic growth, and microbusiness development, focusing on the provision of small credit facilities as a driver of sustainable development in Africa. Its coverage of topics such as microbusiness, social finance, and sustainable development make this book an ideal reference source for academicians, researchers, government officials, policymakers, organizations, managers, instructors, and students.
Societal Entrepreneurship and Competitivenessexamines the role of society in the creation of entrepreneurial opportunities. As society undergoes demographic shifts, cultural change and technological advancement, the way individuals, companies and institutions see and react to entrepreneurship also diversifies. Chapters explore alternative dimensions of entrepreneurship by considering different societal components and assessing attitudes towards entrepreneurship, specifically in terms of competition. By focusing on competitiveness, the book provides new conceptual approaches to understanding societal entrepreneurship and considers future developments. Utilizing an international and interdisciplinary approach to examining contemporary societal entrepreneurship, the book includes research on areas such as student entrepreneurship within Australian Universities, technology-based entrepreneurship within Turkey, and microfinance and necessity entrepreneurship within Ghana. The book will benefit researchers working in the fields of sociology, anthropology and business management, and will develop practitioners' understanding of the impact society has on entrepreneurship and entrepreneurial behavior.